Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly
Session of December 26, 1842 - March 10, 1843

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.
a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (DF) - Fusion Democrat; (FN) - Fusion;  (RE) - Reform; (R) - Republican

Richard Thomas, President of the Senate
Daniel S. Biser, Speaker of the House
Allegany County
John Beall
Anne Arundel County
John S. Sellman
Baltimore City
William Frick
Baltimore County
Hugh Ely
Calvert County
John Parran
Caroline County
Jacob Charles
Carroll County
William P. Maulsby
Cecil County
George R. Howard
Charles County
John Matthews
Dorchester County
William T. Goldsborough, pres p.t.
Frederick County
Richard Potts
Harford County
Otho Scott
Kent County
James B. Ricaud
Montgomery County
William Lingan Gaither
Prince George's County
William D. Bowie
Queen Anne's County
John Palmer
St. Mary's County
Richard Thomas, pres
Somerset County
William Williams
Talbot County 
Nicholas Martin
Washington County
John Newcomer
Worcester County
Teagle Townsend

House of Delegates
Allegany County
John M. Buchanan
William V. Buskirk
John Neff
John Pickell
Anne Arundel County
James Clarke
Tristram S. Dorsey
Edward Hammond
James Murray
James S. King
Baltimore City
Francis Gallagher
John J. Graves
Carroll Spence
David C. Springer
William M. Starr
Baltimore County
Thomas L. Hall
Beale Randall
Thomas C. Risteau
Joseph Walker
Robert S. Welsh
Calvert County
James G. Allnutt
James S. Morsell
Loach L. Weems
Caroline County
John Nicols
Solomon Sherwood
John Thawley
Carroll County
Elias Brown
Samuel D. Lecompte
Jacob Powder
William Shaw
Cecil County
Thomas B. Crookshanks
Tillotson Janney
Nathan Lackland
John Simpers, Jr.
Charles County
William H. Brawner
Peter W. Crain
John D. Freeman

Dorchester County
Nathaniel E. Green
William B. Lecompte
Francis P. Phelps
William K. Traverse
Frederick County
Daniel S. Biser, spkr
Thomas Crampton
William Lynch
James J. McKeehan
David Richardson
Harford County
Francis Butler
Thomas C. Hopkins
Luther M. Jarrett
Coleman Yellott
Kent County
John H. Edes
McCall M. Rasin
Samuel M. Sutton
Montgomery County
Robert T. Dade
Lyde Griffith
Alexander Kilgour
Z.H. Worthington
Prince George's County
William R. Barker
Samuel Hamilton
Benedict J. Semmes
William H. Tuck
Queen Anne's County
James Clemments
Nathan Dunbracco
Lemuel Roberts
St. Mary's County
John M.S. Causin
Henry G.S. Key
William H. Thomas
Somerset County
John Fleming
George Handy
Benjamin Lankford
John B. Rider
Talbot County
Benjamin M. Bowdle
Morris O. Colston
George W. Sherwood
Washington County
Edward L. Boteler
Jacob H. Grove
Horatio N. Harne
Jonathan Nesbit, Jr.
William Weber
Worcester County
Charles N. Handy
Ebenezer Hearn, dns
James M. Holland
John T. Tylor

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

CopyrightMarch 28, 2013Maryland State Archives