Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly
Special Session of December 25, 1837 - March 30, 1838
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

Richard Thomas, President of the Senate
William H. TuckSpeaker of the House

Western Shore
Eastern Shore
John Beckett
Richard J. Bowie
Elias Brown, pres p.t.
Levi Hilliary, r
Samuel Jones, Jr.
Robert W. Kent
William Schley, r
Richard Thomas, pres

Robert M. Tidball
Andrew Bruce, e
John Lee, e
Joseph S. Cottman
William T. Goldsborough
Edward N. Hambleton
William U. Purnell
James B. Ricaud, pres p.t.
Thomas Wright, of Thomas

House of Delegates
Allegany County 
Daniel Blocher
Jonathan Huddleson
John Neff
Michael C. Sprigg

Thomas S. Alexander
Robert Swann

Anne Arundel County
McLane Brown
Richard W. Higgins
Leonard Iglehart
Cephas Simmons

Baltimore City
Francis Gallagher
William Fell Giles
Solomon Hillen, Jr.
Henry McKinnell

Baltimore County
Hugh Ely
John C. Orrick
Thomas C. Risteau
James Turner

Calvert County
Nathaniel Duke
Daniel Kent
John Parran
Augustus D. Sollers

Caroline County
John Boon, Jr.
James Carter
John Jump, of Elijah
James Turner

Carroll County
James G. Berrett
John B. Boyle
Jacob Powder, Jr.
Jacob Shower
Cecil County
John W. Comegys
John Evans
Charles W. Parker
Johnson Simpers
Charles County
Samuel H. Beall
James D. Carpenter, pres p.t.
John Hughers
William D. Merrick, r
John A. Matthews, e

Dorchester County
John F. Eccleston
William Frazier
Nicholas L. Goldsborough
Reuben Tall
Frederick County
Daniel S. Biser
Exra Cramer
George W. Ent
John W. Geyer
Harford County
William L. Forwood
Israel D. Maulsby
James Nelson
James W. Williams
Kent County
James H. Gale
John McDaniel
John Usilton
Ebenezer Welch
Montgomery County
Robert M. Beans
Lawrence A. Dawson
Henry Griffith, of Lyde
Stephen N.C. White
Prince George's County
Thomas F. Bowie
Henry L. Coombs
Robert Ghiselin
William H. Tuck, spkr
Queen Anne's County
William Grason
Samuel T. Harrison
Lemuel Roberts
Pere Wilmer
St. Mary's County
John M.S. Causin
George Crane
William Ford
James R. Hopewell

Somerset County
John T. Adams
Charles C. Carroll
Alexander S. Jones
Richard Lemmon

Talbot County
John Boyle
Spry Denny
Francis E. Jump
John Bozman Kerr
Washington County
John H. Mann
Andrew Rentch
Michael Swingley
John Witman, Jr.
Worcester County
Ebenezer Hearn
James Powell
William H. Selby
Teagle Townsend

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

Copyright March 12, 2013Maryland State Archives