Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly
Session of
May 23 - June 4, 1836
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

John G. Chapman, President of the Senate
Benjamin L. GanttSpeaker of the House

Western Shore
Eastern Shore
John G. Chapman, pres
Dennis Claude
Benjamin S. Forrest
Charles F. Mayer
James Montgomery
John B. Morris
Bene S. Pigman
Thomas Sappington
William T. Wootton
Thomas Emory
John C. Groome
William Hughlett

Samuel G. Osborn, dns
Henry Page
Henry P.C. Wilson

House of Delegates
Allegany County 
Jeremiah Berry, Jr.
Joseph Frantz
William Matthews

William McMahon

Nicholas Brewer
Thomas Duckett
Anne Arundel County
Benjamin Hood
Leonard Iglehart
John Mercer
Charles S. Ridgely

Baltimore City
Cornelius McClean, Jr.
Beale H. Richardson

Baltimore County
Elias Brown
John H. Carroll
Hugh Ely
William S. Winder

Calvert County
Nathaniel Duke
James Kent
John P. Wailes
George W. Weems

Caroline County
Thomas Burchenal
Thomas S. Carter
William M. Hardcastle
James Turner

Cecil County
John Henderson
George McCullogh
Lambert D. Nowland
Granville S. Townsend

Charles County
James D. Carpenter
William A. Dulaney
William D. Merrick
George R. Spalding
Dorchester County
Joseph Bayly, Jr.
John Brohawn
William J. Ford
Joseph K. Traverse, d

Frederick County
Robert Annan
Daniel Duvall
Isaac Shriver
William Willis

Harford County
Stephen Boyd
Harry D. Gough

James Nelson
Samuel Sutton

Kent County
Benjamin Kerby
William S. Lassell
Merritt Miller
James S. Primrose

Montgomery County
Richard W. Beam
John W. Darby
Thomas Gittings
David Trundle

Prince George's County
Edward G. Bryan
Benjamin L. Gantt, spkr
Thomas G. Pratt
Walter B.C. Worthington

Queen Anne's County
William Hemsley
William Kirby
Robert Larrimore

John Palmer
St. Mary's County
Charles J. Carroll
John T. Hawkins
Alexander Kilgour
John L. Millard

Somerset County
John Dennis
Arnold E. Jones
Edward H.C. Long
Littleton D. Teackle
Talbot County
Joseph Bruff
George Dudley
Samuel B. Hambleton, Jr.
Solomon Mulliken

Washington County
David Brookhart
Jacob Fiery
Michael Newcomer
John V. Wharton

Worcester County
John P.R. Gilliss
Ebenezer Hearn
Thomas A. Spence
Elisha E. Whitelock

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

Copyright March 08, 2013Maryland State Archives