Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly
Session of December 1, 1823 - February 26, 1824

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.
a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(F) - Federalist; (R) - Republican.

William R. Stuart, President of the Senate
Tobias E. Stansbury, Speaker of the House

Western Shore
Eastern Shore
Robert Bowie
Joseph Brownley
Dennis Claude
Joshua Cockey
Athanasius Fenwick, e
Reverdy Johnson
Daniel Kent
William Price
William H. Winder
John Wootton, dns, r
Ezekiel Forman Chambers
Solomon Dickenson
William C. Miller
Robert Orrell
William Quinton
William R. Stuart, pres

House of Delegates
Allegany County
John McHenry
John M. McMahon
Michael C. Sprigg
Thomas H. Carroll
Jeremiah Hughes
Anne Arundel County
George Howard, of Brice
Leonard Iglehard
Abner Linthicum
Charles R. Stewart
Baltimore City
William Stuart
William G.D. Worthington
Baltimore County  
Hugh Ely
William F. Johnson
Tobias E. Stansbury, spkr
John T.H. Worthington
Calvert County
John R.E. Chesley
James A. D. Dalrymple
Alexander Skinner
Sutton I. Weems
Caroline County
Edward Barwick
Elijah Barwick
John Boon
Joseph Douglass
Cecil County
Guy Bryan
James Gerry
Frisby Henderson
Samuel Kerr, e
Daniel Sheredine, dns, d
Charles County
John Edelen
Robert Garner
Walter M. Millar
Thomas Rogerson
Dorchester County
William Hutson
Levin Lake
John R.W. Pitt
John Willis
Frederick County
Joseph M. Cromwell
John Fisher
Henry Kemp
Nicholas Turbutt
Harford County
Alexander Norris
Sharles S. Sewell
James Steel
William Whiteford
Kent County
William Coburn
Rasin Gale
James Hodges
Joseph Ireland, Jr.
Montgomery County
Washington Duvall
John A.T. Kilgour
George Peter
Elisha W. Williams
Prince George's County
Abraham Clarke
Edmund B. Duvall
Benedict J. Semmes
William T. Wootton
Queen Anne's County
Daniel C. Hopper, spkr p.t.
William E. Meconiken
Richard Moffitt
Charles R. Richardson
St. Mary's County
Clement Dorsey, e
Athanasius Fenwick, r
Stephen H. Gough
George S. Leigh
John L. Millard
Somerset County
Joshua Brattan
George A. Dashiell
Littleton J. Dennis
George Jones, of Robert
Talbot County
Edward Lloyd, Jr.
Theodore R. Loockerman
Nicholas Martin
Richard Spencer
Washington County
James H. Bowles
Joseph Gabby
Andrew Kershner
Joseph I. Merrick
Worcester County
Henry Franklin
John S. Purnell
William Riley
John P. Slemaker
Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

Copyright December 26, 2012Maryland State Archives