Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly
Session of December 4, 1820 - February 19, 1821

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.
a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(F) - Federalist; (R) - Republican.

William Spencer, President of the Senate
Tobias Stansbury, Speaker of the House

Western Shore
Eastern Shore
Richard Carroll, e
Joseph Cresap 
Peter Emerson 
Robert Goodloe Harper 
John E. Howard, Jr., dns, r
Robert P. Magruder 
Virgil Maxcy 
George D. Parnham 
Roger Brooke Taney
Richard W. West
William Carmichael 
Levin Gale 
Henry Hollyday 
William Hughlett 
George W. Jackson 
William Spencer (F), pres

House of Delegates
Allegany County
Thomas Blair (F)
William Hilleary (F)
William Reid (F)
John Scott (F)
James Boyle (R)
Lewis Duvall (R)
Anne Arundel County
Thomas W. Hall (R)
William H. Marriott (R)
Charles Stewart, of David (R)
Walter Wyvill (R)
Baltimore City
John Barney (R)
John P. Kennedy (R)
Baltimore County
Edward Orrick (R)
Adam Showers (R)
John B. Snowden (R)
Tobias E. Stansbury (R), spkr
Calvert County
John Beckett (R)
James A. D. Dalrymple (R)
Daniel Kent (R)
Sutton I. Weems (R)
Caroline County
William M. Hardcastle (R)
Frederick Holbrook (R)
William Whitely (R)
Peter Willis (R)
Cecil County
Robert H. Archer (R)
John S. Maffitt (R)
Thomas Williams (R)
John Wroth (R)
Charles County
John Edelen (F)
Lawrence Posey (F)
Thomas Rogerson (F)
John T. Stoddert (F)
Dorchester County
William W. Eccleston (R)
Solomon Frazier (R)
Levin Lake (R)
Benjamin W. Lecompte (R), ev, e
Frederick County
Joshua Cockey (R)
Ignatius Davis (F)
Robert G. McPherson (F)
Alexander Warfield (F)
Harford County
Abel Alderson (R)
William H. Allen (R)
Israel D. Maulsby (R)
Alexander Norris (R)
Kent County
Frederick Boyer (F)
James F. Brown (F)
John B. Eccleston (F)
Richard S. Thomas (F)
Montgomery County
William Darne (R)
Benjamin S. Forrest (R)
Ephraim Gaither (R)
Henry Harding (R)
Prince George's County
Joseph Cross (R)
Julius Forrest (R)
Richard T. Hall (R)
Thomas C. Lyles (R)
Queen Anne's County
Richard Moffitt (R)
Charles R. Nicholson (R)
Robert Stevens (R)
Henry E. Wright (R)
St. Mary's County
Henry G. S. Key (F)
John L. Millard (F)
George Plater (F)
Alexander W. Reeder (F)
Somerset County
Matthias Dashiell (F)
Littleton P. Dennis (F)
Levin R. King (F)
Josiah F. Polk (F)
Talbot County
William Hayward, Jr. (R)
Daniel Martin (R)
Nicholas Martin (R)
Samuel Stevens, Jr. (R)
Washington County
John Bowles (R)
Joseph Gabby (R)
Thomas Kennedy (R)
Andrew Kershner (R)
Worcester County
Charles Parker (R)
William F. Selby (R)
Thomas N. Williams (R)
Ephraim K. Wilson (R)
Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

Copyright December 26, 2012Maryland State Archives