Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly
Session of December 6, 1819 - February 15, 1820
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

William Spencer, President of the Senate
Tobias E. Stansbury, Speaker of the House

Western Shore
Eastern Shore
Richard Carroll, e
Joseph Cresap
Peter Emerson
Robert Goodloe Harper
John E. Howard, Jr., dns, r
Robert P. Magruder
Virgil Maxcy
George D. Parnham
Roger Brooke Taney
Richard W. West
William Carmichael, pres p.t.
Levin Gale
Henry Hollyday
William Hughlett
George W. Jackson
William Spencer, pres

House of Delegates
Allegany County 
Benjamin Tomlinson
William Price
Thomas Grenwell
Thomas Blair
Dennis Claude
James Boyle
Anne Arundel County
William H. Marriott
Walter W. Wyvill
Thomas W. Hall
Charles Stewart, of David
Baltimore City
John Montgomery
Henry M. Breckenridge
Baltimore County
Edward Orrick
Tobias E. Stansbury, spkr 
Abraham H. Price
Adam Showers
Calvert County [1]
Gustavus Weeks
Thomas Blake
Joseph W. Reynolds, ev 
Daniel Kent
John Beckett
Caroline County
Thomas Saulsbury
William M. Hardcastle
Peter Willis
William Whitely
Cecil County
John Wroth
David Mackey 
John Moffitt
David Patten 
Charles County
Nicholas Stonestreet
Daniel Jenifer
Clement Dorsey 
Robert Garner
Dorchester County
Benjamin W. Lacompte
Michael Lucas
Edward Griffith
Dr. William Jackson
Frederick County
Alexander Warfield
William Ross
Plummer Iiams
Thomas Hawkins
Harford County
Israel D. Maulsby
Alexander Norris
Henry Hall
James Forwood
Kent County
James Frisby Browne
Edward Browne
James Brooke
Isaac Spencer
Montgomery County
George Peter
Ephraim Gaither
George C. Washington
Benjamin S. Forrest
Prince George's County
Joseph Cross
Francis M. Hall
Thomas T. Somervell
Richard T. Hall
Queen Anne's County
William R. Stuart 
Kinsey Harrison 
James Hollingsworth
Charles R. Nicholson
St. Mary's County
Henry G.S. Key
John Lewis Michael
Thomas Blackistone
John R. Plater, Jr.
Somerset County
Matthias Dashiell 
Josiah F. Polk
Littleton P. Dennis
Levin R. King
Talbot County
Daniel Martin
William Hayward, Jr.
Samuel Stevens, Jr.
Nicholas Martin
Washington County
Jacob Schnebly
Thomas Keller
Joseph Gabby
Thomas Kennedy
Worcester County
Asa Spence
John S. Spence
William Quinton
William Riley

1. On December 11, 1819, the Committee of Elections and Privileges reported that during the Calvert County election, Weems, Blake, and Reynolds had won "a majority of legal votes," and that Kent and Beckett had received an equal number. The Committee also stated that Kent and Beckett had submitted a protest alleging that two of the candidates reported to have won a majority have received so many illegal votes that they should not have been declared elected. The House summoned several men as witnesses who were though to have voted illegally, but they refused to answer any questions on the grounds that doing so would be self-incriminating. Other subpoenaed persons gave more compelling reasons for not answering questions posed the the House. For instance, on January 27, 1820, James J. Bowen, argued "the constitution has expressly provided that the free citizens of the state shall be at liberty to vote without being obliged to make it known for whom they voted." In January 29, 1820, the House ended its investigation of the Calvert County Election with the following resolution: "That Daniel Kent, John Beckett, and Thomas Blake are declared to be duly elected. And that the seat of Joseph W. Reynolds be and is hereby vacated." Kent and Keckett took their seats in the House the same day. The eligibility of Weems had no point been questioned, as he had received by far the highest number of legal votes.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

Copyright November 19, 2012Maryland State Archives