Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly
Session of December 2, 1816 - February 5, 1817
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

William Spencer, President of the Senate
Nicholas Stonestreet, Speaker of the House

Western Shore
Eastern Shore
Joseph Cresap, e, dns
Clement Dorsey
Peter Emerson
John E. Howard, dcl
John Leigh
Robert D. Magruder
Roger Perry, dcl
Roger Brooke Taney
Archibald Van Horn
George Winchester
William H. Winder, e
Levin Gale
Henry Hollyday
William Hughlett
George W. Jackson
Joseph E. Muse
William Spencer, pres

House of Delegates
Allegany County 
James D. Cresap
William Ridgely
James Prather, Jr.
Jesse Tomlinson
Dennis Claude
Lewis Duvall
Anne Arundel County
Thomas Sellman
Roderick Dorsey
Thomas H. Dorsey
Charles Stewart, of David
Baltimore City
William Stewart
Thomas Kell
Baltimore County
George Warner
George Harryman
Abraham H. Price
Adam Showers
Calvert County
John Horrell
Thomas Blake
John H. Chew
Samuel Turner
Caroline County
Matthew Driver
James Houston
William McDonald
Samuel Culbreth
Cecil County
Lambert Beard
Abraham D. Mitchell
Philip Thomas
John Frey
Charles County
Nicholas Stonestreet, spkr
John T. Stoddert
John J. Jenkins
Lawrence Posey
Dorchester County
Thomas Pitt
Benjamin W. Lacompte
Robert Hart
Edward Griffith 
Frederick County
Richard Potts
Joseph Taney
Joshua Howard
Ignatius Davis
Harford County
Charles S. Sewell
Samuel Bradford
Henry Hall
John Glenn
Kent County
Frederick Boyer
Robert Dunn
James Ringgold
Thomas Whittington
Montgomery County
Leonard Watkins
Zadock Lanham
Richard Key Watts
George C. Washington
Prince George's County
Francis M. Hall
Thomas T. Somerville
George Semmes
Henry A. Callis
Queen Anne's County
James Roberts
William C. Meconniken
Kinsey Harrison
Robert Stevens
St. Mary's County
William B. Scott
Henry Watts
Thomas Blackistone
Gerard N. Cousin
Somerset County
Littleton P. Dennis
Henry K. Long
Thomas K. Carroll
Hampden Haynie
Talbot County
Edward N. Hambleton
Alexander Hands
John Seth
Robert Banning
Washington County
Edward G. Williams
John Bowles
Jacob Schnebly
Christian Hager
Worcester County
William T. Selby
Littleton Quinton
Robert I.H. Handy
Isaac Mitchell

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

Copyright July 17, 2015Maryland State Archives