Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly
Session of December 4, 1815 - January 30, 1816
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

Elijah Davis, President of the Senate
Henry H. Chapman, Speaker of the House

Western Shore
Eastern Shore
Elijah Davis, pres
James Fenwick
Thomas Hawkins
George Hebb
Levi Hollingsworth
Dr. Thomas Johnson
Joseph Kent, e
John Stephen
Nathaniel Williams
William G.D. Worthington, dns, r
James Brown
Solomon Frazier
Frederick Holbrook
William Hollingsworth
James Nabb
John Williams

House of Delegates
Allegany County 
William McMahon
William Hilleary
Jesse Tomlinson
James Prather, Jr.
Dennis Claude
Lewis Duvall
Anne Arundel County
Thomas Sellman
Thomas Hall Dorsey
Charles Stewart, of David
Roderick Dorsey, ds, e [1]
Baltimore City
William Stewart
Christopher Hughes, Jr.
Baltimore County
Beale Randall
Peter Little
Tobias E. Stansbury
George Harryman
Calvert County
Benjamin Gray
Richard Grahame
Joseph Ireland
Thomas Reynolds
Caroline County
Matthew Driver
James Houston
William McDonald
Samuel Culbreth
Cecil County
Lambert Beard
Abraham D. Mitchell
George Davidson
Robert Evans
Charles County
Nicholas Stonestreet
John Edward Ford
Henry H. Chapman, skpr
John J. Jenkins, r
John T. Stoddert, e
Dorchester County
Robert Hart
Thomas Pitt
Edward Griffith 
Benjamin W. Lacompte
Frederick County
Joseph Taney, Sr.
John Thomas
Joshua Howard
James Johnson
Harford County
Charles S. Sewell
Samuel Bradford
Henry Hall
John Forwood
Kent County
William Spencer
Frederick Boyer
Matthew Tilghman
Joseph Brown IV
Montgomery County
Abraham Jones
John H. Riggs
Richard I. Crabb
Charles J. Kilgour
Prince George's County [2]
Thomas T. Somerville
William Dent Beall
Edward Henry Calvert
Archibald Van Horn
Queen Anne's County
William C. Meconniken
Kinsey Harrison
Samuel Burgess, dns, r
Robert Stevens
James Roberts, e
St. Mary's County
William B. Scott
Raphael Neale
Thomas Blackistone
Gerard N. Cousin
Somerset County
Thomas Bayly
Henry K. Long
Littleton P. Dennis
John C. Wilson, Jr.
Talbot County
Solomon Dickenson
Daniel Martin
Edward Lloyd
Joseph Kemp
Washington County
Martin Kershner
Jacob Schnebly
John Bowles
Edward G. Williams
Worcester County
Thomas N. Williams
Ephraim K. Wilson, spkr p.t.
Littleton Quinton
Isaac Mitchell

1. The Committee of Elections and Privileges reported on December 8, 1815 that a memorial from some voters in Anne Arundel County had alleged that Dorsey had not been a resident of the county as required. After examination several witnesses, the committee found that Dorsey had lived in Baltimore County during the year 1814 until the month of December. On December 9, 1815, the House passed a resolution declaring that Dorsey should vacate his seat. During the subsequent special election held in Anne Arundel, Dorsey won the largest number of votes. He again took his seat in the House on December 30, 1815, although the Committee of Elections and Privileges did not declare him a member of the House until January 6, 1816.

2. On December 9, 1815, the House voted to send back to committee the part of the report of the Committee of Elections and Privileges relating to the election in Prince George's County. the judges of the election in that county had provided evidence that voters had cast their ballots in four of the county's five districts. It was not clear, however, that an election had been held in District Two. The House expressed its displeasure by declaring "it is impossible for this House to exercise its constitutional authority in judging the elections of its members, if a part of the voters in any county may be suppressed or withheld at the pleasure of the persons appointed to preside over its elections..."

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

Copyright November 17, 2012Maryland State Archives