Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly
Session of November 5, 1798 - January 20, 1799

        Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

William Perry, John Thomas, President of the Senate
Henry Henley Chapman, Speaker of the House

Western Shore
Eastern Shore
John Campbell
Charles Carroll, of Carrollton
John Chesley
William Hammond Dorsey
Uriah Forrest
John Graham
David McMechen
Charles Ridgely, of Hampton
John Thomas, pres
Littleton Dennis
Nicholas Hammond, dns
William Hindman, e
James Hollyday
Robert Mulligan
William Perry, pres, d
John S. Purnell

House of Delegates
Allegany County
Aza Beall
James Cresap, of Daniel
James Cresap, of Michael
John Simpkins
Philip Barton Key
Allen Quynn
Anne Arundel County
William Brogden
Edward Hall
Richard H. Harwood
John Worthington
Baltimore City
Archibald Buchanan
William Wilson
Baltimore County
Elias Brown
James Carroll
Alexis Lemmon, e
Elijah Merryman, dns, r
Charles Ridgely, of William
Calvert County
Thomas Bourne
William D. Brome
Richard Mackall
Roger Brooke Taney
Caroline County
Philip Clarke
Thomas Hughlett
William Potter
John Young
Cecil County
Davidson David, e
Levi Hollingsworth
Samuel Miller
Thomas Savin, dns, r
Thomas Wallace, spkr p.t.
Charles County
Thomas Buchanan
Henry Henley Chapman, spkr
William Hanson McPherson
John Parnham
Dorchester County
Solomon Frazier
Matthew Keene
Richard Pattison
Isaac Steele
Frederick County
Upton Bruce
John Gwinn
John Thomas
Henry Ridgely Warfield
Harford County
William S. Dallam
Abraham Jarrett
Nicholas Day McComas
John Montgomery
Kent County
William Barroll, spkr p.t.
William Briscoe
Robert Dunn
Matthew Tilghman
Montgomery County
Robert P. Magruder
George Riley
John L. Summers
Elimeleck Swearengen
Prince George's County
Thomas G. Addison
George Calvert
Allen B. Duckett
James A. Magruder
Queen Anne's County
James Brown
Charles Frazier
Joseph Hopper Nicholson, r
Thomas Wright
St. Mary's County
Luke White Barber
Robert Greenwell
John Leigh
Raphael Neale
Somerset County
Lambert Hyland
Benjamin Jones
John Steuart
William H. Winder
Talbot County
Perry Benson, e
John Edmondson
James Nabb
Philemon Sherwood
Washington County
John Buchanan
John Cellar
Ambrose Geohagan
Martin Kershner
Worcester County
Jesse Bennett
William Corbin
John Gunby
George Purnell
Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

Copyright December 27, 2012Maryland State Archives