Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly
Session of November 6, 1797 - January 21, 1798

        Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

William Perry, John Thomas, President of the Senate
James Carroll, William Thomas, Speaker of the House

Western Shore
Eastern Shore
John Campbell
Charles Carroll, of Carrollton
John Chesley, pres p.t.
William Hammond Dorsey
Uriah Forrest
John Graham
David McMechen
Charles Ridgely, of Hampton
John Thomas, pres
Littleton Dennis
Nicholas Hammond
James Hollyday, dns
Robert Mulligan
William Perry, pres
John S. Purnell

House of Delegates
Allegany County
Aza Beall
Daniel Clarke, Jr.
John Rice
Benjamin Tomlinson
Philip Barton Key
Allen Quynn
Anne Arundel County
William Brogden
Samuel Godman
Edward Hall
John Chew Thomas
Baltimore City
Walter Dorsey
Robert Smith
Baltimore County
Elias Brown
James Carroll, spkr, r
Elijah Merryman
John Tolly Worthington
Calvert County
Thomas Bourne
William D. Brome
Peter Emerson
Michael Taney
Caroline County
John Benett
John Mitchell
William Potter
John Young
Cecil County
Levi Hollingsworth, Jr.
Hugh Matthews
Samuel Miller
Thomas Wallace
Charles County
Thomas Buchanan
Henry Henley Chapman
John Parnham
John Thomas
Dorchester County
John Craig
Solomon Frazier
Charles Goldsborough
Richard Pattison
Frederick County
Upton Bruce
Joshua Gist
John Thomas
Henry Ridgely Warfield
Harford County
James Bond
Abraham Jarrett
Nicholas Day McComas
John Montgomery
Kent County
Thomas Angier
Cornelius Comegys
Henry Page
James Parker
Montgomery County
Patrick Magruger
Robert P. Magruder
George Riley
John L. Summers, e
Robert Swailes, ds
Prince George's County
Thomas G. Addison
Walter Bowie
George Calvert
Allen B. Duckett
Queen Anne's County
James Brown
Gideon Emory
Charles Frazier
Joseph Hopper Nicholson, spkr p.t.
St. Mary's County
Robert Greenwell
John Leigh
Edmund Plowden
William Thomas, spkr
Raphael Neale
Somerset County
Benjamin Frederick Augustus Caesar
Lambert Hyland
Benjamin Jones
William Polk
Talbot County
John Harwood
David Kerr
Thomas Oldham Martin
Philemon Sherwood
Washington County
Cephas Beall
John Buchanan
Ambrose Geohagan, dns
Martin Kershner
Worcester County
William Corbin
John Ratcliff
James Bowdoin Robins
Ephraim K. Wilson
Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

Copyright December 27, 2012Maryland State Archives