Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly
Session of November 7 - December 31, 1796

        Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

William Perry, John Thomas, President of the Senate
Philip Key, Speaker of the House

Western Shore
Eastern Shore
John Campbell
Charles Carroll, of Carrollton
John Chesley
William Hammond Dorsey
Uriah Forrest
John Graham
John Eager Howard, r
David McMechen, e
Charles Ridgely, of Hampton
John Thomas
Littleton Dennis
Nicholas Hammond, dns
James Hollyday
James Lloyd, r
Robert Mulligan, e, dns
William Perry, pres
John S. Purnell

House of Delegates
Allegany County
Aza Beall
John Conrod Beatty
Daniel Clarke, Jr.
Benjamin Tomlinson
Philip Barton Key
Allen Quynn
Anne Arundel County
William Brogden
Edward Hall
Horatio Ridout
John Chew Thomas
Baltimore City
David McMechen, r
Robert Smith, r
Alexander McKim, e
James Winchester, e
Baltimore County
James Carroll
Elijah Merryman
Charles Ridgely, of William
John Tolly Worthington
Calvert County
Thomas Bourne
William D. Brome
Peter Emerson
William Sprigg
Caroline County
John Benett
Thomas Boone
Joshua Driver
John Young
Cecil County
Levi Hollingsworth
Samuel Miller
Thomas Savin
Thomas Wallace
Charles County
Henry Henley Chapman
Francis Digges
John Parnham
John Thomas
Dorchester County
Levin Campbell
Solomon Frazier
Richard Goldsborough
Richard Pattison
Frederick County
William Beatty
Valentine Brother
Allen Quynn, Jr.
David Shriver
Harford County
Abraham Jarrett
John Montgomery
Jacob Norris, ev
Edward Prall
Nicholas Day McComas, e
Kent County
William Barroll
Robert Buchanan, Jr.
William Spencer
John Lambert Wilmer
Montgomery County
David Luckett
Laurence O'Neale
Daniel Reintzel
Elimelech Swearingen
Prince George's County
William Baker
Walter Bowie
George Calvert
Allen B. Duckett
Queen Anne's County
James Brown
James Butcher
Charles Frazier
Joseph Hopper Nicholson
St. Mary's County
James Hopewell
Philip Key, spkr
Wilfred Neale
William Thomas
Somerset County
Richard Handy
Lambert Hyland
Benjamin Jones
John Wilkins
Talbot County
John Harwood
Henry Johnson
Wrightson Lamdin
Philemon Sherwood
Washington County
Thomas Bowles
John Cellar
Robert Douglass
James McClain
Worcester County
William Corbin
James Bowdoin Robins
William Whittington
Ephraim K. Wilson
Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

Copyright December 27, 2012Maryland State Archives