Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly of 1789

First Session: November 2, 1789 - December 25, 1789
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.
a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

Daniel Carroll, John Smith,1 President of the Senate
George Dent, Speaker of the House
Western Shore
Eastern Shore
Charles Carroll of Carrollton 
George Plater, dns
John Hall
John Smith, pres
Daniel Carroll, pres
Richard Ridgely
Samuel Hughes
William Harrison, dns, d
James Carroll 
Daniel Bowley, e
John Henry, dns
George Gale
William Hemsley, dns
William Perry 
Peregrine Tilghman 
Nicholas Hammond


House of Delegates
Allen Quynn
Gabriel Duvall
Anne Arundel County
Nicholas Worthington
John Griffith Worthington
Brice T. B. Worthington
Richard Harwood
Baltimore Town
Sameul Strett
James McHenry
Baltimore County
Charles Ridgely
James Gittings
Charles Ridgely, of William
Richard Owings
Calvert County
Alexander Frazier
Thomas Gantt
Peregrine Freeland
John Somerville
Caroline County
William Banckes
William Whitely
Charles Emory
Thomas Mason
Cecil County
William Matthews
Nathaniel Ramsay, dns, r
Edward Oldham
Richard Bond
Henry Hollingsworth, e
Charles County
George Dent, spkr
John Parnham
William Craik
William Hanson McPherson
Dorchester County
William Vans Murray
James Shaw
Moses Lecompte
James Steele
Frederick County
Abraham Faw
Joshua Dorsey
David Shriver
Mountjoy Bayly
Harford County
Benjamin Bradford Norris
William Pinkney
John Lee Webster, dns
John Love
Kent County
William Tilghman 
Matthew Tilghman
John Moore 
Peregrine Lethrbury, dns
Montgomery County
Edward Burgess
Joshua Crabb
Laurence O'Neale
Uriah Forrest
Prince George's County
Robert Bowie
Walter Bowie
Thomas Clarke
George Digges
Queen Anne's County
John Seney
James O'Bryon
James Tilghman
John Brown, dns
St. Mary's County
Henry James Carroll
Zachariah Forrest
Richard Barnes 
James Hopewell
Somerset County
Tubman Lowes
John Stewart
John Gale
Levin Winder
Talbot County
Hugh Sherwood, of Huntington
James Tilghman, Jr.
Edward Lloyd, dns
David Kerr
Washington County
Henry Shryock
John Stull
Adam Ott
John Lynn
Worcester County
John Selby Purnell
Benjamin Dennis
Isaac Houston
Benjamin F. A. C. Dashiell

1. Smith was elected president on December 7, 1789, to replace Carroll who had been granted a leave of absence.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright April 14, 2009Maryland State Archives