Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly of 1788

First Session: November 3, 1788 - December 23, 1788
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.
a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

George Plater, Daniel Carroll,1 President of the Senate
Thomas Cockey Deye, Speaker of the House
Western Shore
Eastern Shore
Charles Carroll of Carrollton 
George Plater, pres
John Hall
John Smith
Daniel Carroll, pres
Richard Ridgely
Samuel Hughes
William Harrison, dns
Thomas Johnson, dcl
James Carroll 
John Henry, dns
George Gale
Edward Lloyd, r
William Hemsley, dns
William Perry 
Peregrine Tilghman 
Nicholas Hammond, e


House of Delegates
Allen Quynn
Gabriel Duvall
Anne Arundel County
Richard Harwood
John Francis Mercer
Jeremiah Townley Chase
Nicholas Worthington
Baltimore Town
James McHenry
John Coulter
Baltimore County
Thomas Cockey Deye, spkr
Charles Ridgely
Charles Ridgely, of William
Edward Cockey
Calvert County
Thomas Gantt
Alexander Frazier
William Fitzhugh, Jr.
Thomas Blake
Caroline County
Peter Edmonson
Charles Emory
Thomas Mason
Zabdiel Potter, dns, r
William Banckes, e
Cecil County
Richard Bond
Samuel Miller
William Matthews
Benjamin Bravard
Charles County
John Parnham
George Dent
Henry Henly Chapman
William Hanson McPherson
Dorchester County
William Vans Murray
James Shaw
Moses Lecompte
James Steele
Frederick County
Richard Potts
Abraham Faw
John McPherson
John Gwinn
Harford County
Benjamin Bradford Norris
Aquila Scott
William Pinkney
John Lee Webster, dns, r
Abraham Jarrett, e
Kent County
William Tilghman 
Richard Miller
Philip Reed
Cornelius Comegys
Montgomery County
Jeremiah Crabb
Thomas Cramphin
Laurence O'Neale
William Hammond Dorsey
Prince George's County
Davis Craufurd
Walter Bowie
George Digges
Robert Bowie, ds2
Fielder Bowie, e2
Queen Anne's County
John Seney
James Tilghman
James Hollyday
Clement Sewell
St. Mary's County
Uriah Forrest
Samuel Abell
Charles Chilton
George Thomas
Somerset County
John Stewart
Giles Polk
John Gale, dns
Henry Waggaman
Talbot County
Hugh Sherwood, of Huntington
James Tilghman, Jr.
David Kerr
Sameul Chamberlaine
Washington County
Thomas Sprigg
Henry Shryock
Ignatius Taylor
John Lynn
Worcester County
John Selby Purnell
Benjamin Dennis
William Purnell
James Houston

1. Carroll was elected president on December 16, 1788, to replace Plater, who had been granted a leave of absence.
2. A remonstrance, received from Fielder Bowie on November 4, 1788, claimed that Robert Bowie was collector of the taxes at the time of his election, and therefore ineligible. Robert Bowie was discharged on November 12, and a new election was called. On November 28 Fielder Bowie was qualified as the newly elected delegate from Prince George's County

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright April 14, 2009Maryland State Archives