Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly of 1787 - 1788

First Session: November 5, 1787 - December 17, 1788
Second Session: May 12 - 27, 1788
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.
a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

George Plater, Daniel Carroll, John Smith,1 President of the Senate
Thomas Cockey Deye, Speaker of the House
Western Shore
Eastern Shore
Thomas Stone, d-1
Charles Carroll of Carrollton 
George Plater, pres 1-2
John Hall
John Smith, pres 2
Daniel Carroll, pres 2
Richard Ridgely
Samuel Hughes
William Harrison, dns
Richard Potts, e-1, dcl
Thomas Johnson, e-2, dns
John Henry
George Gale
Edward Lloyd
William Hemsley
William Perry 
Peregrine Tilghman 


House of Delegates
Allen Quynn
Gabriel Duvall
Anne Arundel County
Richard Harwood
Nicholas Worthington
Brice T. B. Worthington
James Carroll
Baltimore Town
Samuel Chase
David McMechen
Baltimore County
Thomas Cockey Deye, spkr
Henry Dorsey Gough
Edward Cockey
Charles Ridgely
Calvert County
Michael Taney
John Grahame
William Fitzhugh, Jr.
Thomas Gantt
Caroline County
Thomas Lockerman
Henry Downes
Philip Walker
Thomas Hughlett
Cecil County
Benjamin Bravard
Richard Bond
William Matthews
Samuel Miller
Charles County
George Dent
John Parnham
William Hanson McPherson
Henry Henly Chapman
Dorchester County
James Shaw
Archibald Patison
Moses Lecompte
James Steele
Frederick County
Thomas Sim Lee, dns, r-2
Thomas Johnson
Abraham Faw
Richard Potts
Harford County
John Love
Aquila Scott
Benjamin Bradford Norris
Ignatius Wheeler
Kent County
Richard Miller
Jeremiah Nichols
Josiah Johnson, dns
Philip Reed
Montgomery County
Laurence O'Neale
Edward Burgess
William Holmes
Charles Greenbury Griffith
Prince George's County
Davis Craufurd
Fielder Bowie
Walter Bowie
George Digges
Queen Anne's County
John Seney
Joshua Seney
John Brown
George Jackson
St. Mary's County
Samuel Abell, Jr.
George Thomas, ds-22
Philip Key, ds-22
Uriah Forrest
Somerset County
John Gale
John Stewart
Giles Polk
William Adams
Talbot County
John Roberts
Hugh Sherwood, of Huntington
James Tilghman
William Hayward, Jr.
Washington County
Jacob Funk
Andrew Bruce
John Cellars
Ignatius Taylor
Worcester County
John Selby Purnell
John Pope Mitchell
William Purnell
Francis Jenkins Henry

1. Carroll was elected president on May 15, 1788, to replace Plater, who was indisposed. Carroll was absent on May 24 and Smith was chosen. He resigned the following day, however, and Plater was returned to the presidency for the remainder of the session.
2. Charges of "treating" were brought against all four of the St. Mary's County delegates. Thomas and Key were declared unduly elected on May 20, 1788.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright April 14, 2009Maryland State Archives