Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly of 1786 - 1787

First Session: November 6, 1786 - January 20, 1787
Second Session: April 10 - May 26, 1787
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.
a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

George Plater, Daniel Carroll, John Smith,1 President of the Senate
Thomas Cockey Deye, Speaker of the House
Western Shore
Eastern Shore
Thomas Stone
Charles Carroll of Carrollton 
Thomas Johnson, dcl
Richard Barnes
George Plater, pres 1-2
John Hall
John Smith, pres 1
Daniel Carroll, pres 2
Richard Ridgely
Samuel Hughes, e-1
Benjamin C. Stoddert, e-1, dcl
William Harrison
John Henry
George Gale
Edward Lloyd
William Hemsley
William Paca, dcl
William Perry 
Peregrine Tilghman, e-1


House of Delegates
Allen Quynn
Thomas Jennings, r-1, e-1
Anne Arundel County
Richard Harwood
Nicholas Worthington
Samuel Chase
Brice T. B. Worthington
Baltimore Town
Jessee Hollingsworth
David McMechen
Baltimore County
Thomas Cockey Deye, spkr
Samuel Owings
Edward Cockey
Charles Ridgely
Calvert County
Michael Taney
William Fitzhugh, Jr.
John Grahame
Thomas Gantt, Jr.
Caroline County
Thomas Lockerman
Philip Walker
Thomas Goldsborough, dns
Thomas Hardcastle
Cecil County
Richard Bond
Michael Wallace
William Matthews
Benjamin Bravard
Charles County
George Dent
Zephaniah Turner
William Hanson McPherson
John Hoskins Stone
Dorchester County
James Shaw
William Ennalls Hooper
Archibald Patison
James Steele
Frederick County
Abraham Faw
Peter Mantz
Thomas Johnson
Mountjoy Bayly
Harford County
Benjamin Bradford Norris
James Bond
John Love
Ignatius Wheeler
Kent County
Isaac Perkins
Richard Miller
Josiah Johnson
Robert Wright
Montgomery County
Laurence O'Neale
Edward Burgess
William Holmes
John Haymond Nichols
Prince George's County
Walter Bowie
Fielder Bowie
Robert Bowie
George Digges
Queen Anne's County
John Seney
Joshua Seney
George Jackson
William Paca
St. Mary's County
Samuel Abell, Jr.
John DeButts
Uriah Forrest, ds-12
James Hopewell
Zachariah Forrest, e-2
Somerset County
John Gale
William Adams
Giles Polk
John Stewart
Talbot County
John Roberts
Hugh Sherwood
John Stevens
John Gibson
Washington County
John Cellars
Jacob Funk
John Stull
Richard Cromwell
Worcester County
John Pope Mitchell
William Purnell
Josiah Mitchell
Jenkins Henry3

1. Smith was elected president on January 8, 1787, to replace Plater, who had a leave of absence. Plater was reelected president for the second session, but was granted another leave of absence on May 20, 1787, and Carroll was chosen to replace him.
2. Forrest was declared ineligible at the time of election "for the want of residence." He was discharged on January 15.
3. It is presumed that the full name of this delegate was Francis Jenkins Henry.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright April 14, 2009Maryland State Archives