Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly of 1782 - 1783

First Session: November 3, 1782 - January 15, 1783
Second Session: April 21, 1783 - June 1, 1783

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

George Plater, Matthew Tilghman, Charles Carroll of Carrollton1, President of the Senate
Thomas Cockey Deye, Speaker of the House
Western Shore
Eastern Shore
George Plater, pres-1
Thomas Stone
Charles Carroll of Carrollton, pres-2
John Smith
James McHenry
Daniel Carroll, dns
Charles Carroll, barrister, d-2
Richard Barnes
Benedict Edward Hall
Samuel Hughes
Matthew Tilghman, pres-1,2
John Henry
Robert Goldsborough, r-2
William Hindman
Josiah Polk
Edward Lloyd

House of Delegates
Allen Quynn
Samuel Chase
Anne Arundel County
Brice T. B. Worthington
Nicholas Worthington
John Hall
William Brogden
Baltimore Town
William Fell
David McMechen
Baltimore County
Thomas Cockey Deye, spkr
Charles Ridgely, of William
Samuel Worthington
John Cradock
Calvert County
William Fitzhugh
Samuel Chew
Edward Reynolds
John Weems, Jr.
Caroline County
William Hopper
Philemon Downes, dns, r-1
Hugh McBryde, dns
Charles Daffin, dns
William Keene, e-1
Cecil County
Archibald Job
Samuel Miller
Benjamin Brevard
William Rowland
Charles County
George Dent
William Wilkerson
Michael Jenifer Stone
William Courts
Dorchester County
James Shaw
Robertson Stevens
Levin Kirkman
John Smoot
Frederick County
David Shriver
Thomas Ogle
Samuel Duvall
Peter Mantz, dns, r-1
Thomas Beatty, e-1
Harford County
John Taylor
Benjamin Bradford Norris
Ignatius Wheeler, Jr.
William Smithson
Kent County
Thomas Smyth, Jr.
John Cadwalader
James Pearce
James Lloyd
Montgomery County
Edward Burgess
Charles Greenbury Griffith
Laurence O'Neale
Benjamin Edwards
Prince George's County
Thomas Duckett
Walter Bowie
Jeremiah Magruder
George Frasier Hawkins
Queen Anne's County
James Kent
John Seney
Clement Sewell
Edward DeCoursey
St. Mary's County
Uriah Forrest
Thomas Bond
Philip Key
Athanasius Ford
Somerset County
John Done
Gillis Polk, dns
Henry Jackson
John Stewart
Talbot County
Hugh Sherwood, of Huntington
James Hindman
John Roberts, Jr.
Woolman Gibson, Jr.
Washington County
John Stull
John Harris
James Chapline
Thomas Sprigg
Worcester County
Joseph Dashiell
Henry Dennis
William Morris
Nehemiah Holland

1. Tilghman was elected president on December 24, 1782, to replace Plater who was unable to attend. Charles Carroll of Carrollton was elected president on May 22, 1783, to replace Tilghman, who was indisposed.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright January 16, 2014Maryland State Archives