Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly of 1781 - 1782

First Session: November 5, 1781 - January 22, 1782
Second Session: April 25, 1783 - June 15, 1782

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

George Plater, President of the Senate
Thomas Cockey Deye, Speaker of the House
Western Shore
Eastern Shore
George Plater, pres
Thomas Stone
Charles Carroll of Carrollton,
John Smith
James McHenry
Daniel Carroll
Charles Carroll, barrister
Richard Barnes
Benedict Edward Hall
Matthew Tilghman
John Henry
Robert Goldsborough
William Hindman
Josiah Polk
Edward Lloyd

House of Delegates
Allen Quynn
Samuel Chase
Anne Arundel County
John Hall
Nicholas Worthington
Brice T. B. Worthington
William Brogden
Baltimore Town
Henry Wilson
David McMechen
Baltimore County
Thomas Cockey Deye, spkr
Charles Ridgely, of William
Samuel Worthington
John Beale Howard
Calvert County
William Fitzhugh
Samuel Chew
Michael Taney
William Allein
Caroline County
William Whitely
Hugh McBryde
Richard Mason, dns
William Hopper
Cecil County
Archibald Job
Samuel Miller
Benjamin Brevard
William Rowland
Charles County
Gerard Blackstone Causin
John Dent, r-2
Daniel Jenifer
Michael Jenifer Stone
Samuel Hanson, of Samuel, e-2
Dorchester County
James Shaw
Thomas Firmin Eccleston
Levin Kirkman
John Smoot, dns, r-1
Frederick County
Thomas Beatty
John Hanson, dns, r-1
Samuel Duvall
David Shriver
Thomas Johnson, e-1, dns, r-1
William Murdock Beall, e-2
Harford County
John Taylor
Benjamin Bradford Norris
William Smithson
John Love
Kent County
John Cadwalader
William Stevenson
James Lloyd
Marmaduke Tilden
Montgomery County
Edward Burgess
Charles Greenbury Griffith
William Bayly
Laurence O'Neale
Prince George's County
Josias Beall, dns, r-2
Walter Bowie
George Frasier Hawkins
Thomas Duckett
Rinaldo Johnson, e-2
Queen Anne's County
Turbutt Wright
James Kent
John Seney
Edward DeCoursey
St. Mary's County
Uriah Forrest
James Allen Thomas
Edmund Plowden
James Mills
Somerset County
John Winder
Henry Waggaman
Thomas King
Josiah Dashiell
Talbot County
John Gibson
James Hindman
Howes Goldsborough, dns, r-1
William Maynadier
Hugh Sherwood, e-1
Washington County
John Stull
John Barnes
Thomas Sprigg
James Chapline
Worcester County
Henry Dennis
William Morris
Joseph Dashiell
Samuel Handy

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright January 16, 2014Maryland State Archives