Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly of 1780 - 1781

First Session: October 17, 1780 - February 2, 1781
Second Session: May 10, 1781 - June 27, 1781

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer, George Plater,1 President of the Senate
William Bruff, Turbutt Wright,2 Speaker of the House
Western Shore
Eastern Shore
George Plater, pres-1,2
Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer, pres-1
Charles Carroll, barrister
Charles Carroll of Carrollton
Thomas Stone, e-1, r-1
Brice T. B. Worthington
Richard Barnes
Joseph Sim, dns, r-2
Upton Sheredine, r-1
Richard Ridgely, e-1, dcl
Samuel Hughes, e-1
Benedict Edward Hall, e-2
Matthew Tilghman
Joseph Nicholson, Jr.
Robert Goldsborough, dns
William Hindman
William Hemsley
John Henry


House of Delegates
Allen Quynn
Samuel Chase
Anne Arundel County
John Hall
Nicholas Worthington
Nicholas Maccubbin
William Brogden, ds-1, e-13
Baltimore Town
David McMechen
Mark Alexander
Baltimore County
Thomas Cockey Deye
John Stevenson
Charles Ridgely, r-1
Rezin Hammond, r-2
Robert Lemmon, e-2
Charles Ridgely, of William, e-2
Calvert County
Levin Mackall, r-1
Frisby Freeland
Charles Williamson, r-1
Thomas Gantt
William Fitzhugh, e-1
Edward Johnson, e-1
Caroline County
Matthew Driver
Benson Stainton
William Whitely
William Hopper, dns, r-1
James Seth, e-1
Cecil County
John Ward
Peter Lawson
Archibald Job
Timothy Kirk
Charles County
Warren Dent
Daniel Jenifer, dns, r-1
Gerard Blackstone Causin
Henry Boarman, dns, r-1
Samuel Hanson, Sr., e-1, r-2
Thomas Stone, e-1, r-1
John Dent, e-2
Michael Jenifer Stone, e-2
Dorchester County
John Henry, Jr., dns, r-1
Thomas Firmin Eccleston, dns, r-1
Gustavus Scott
Daniel Sulivane
James Shaw, e-1
Auther Whitely, e-1
Frederick County
Fielder Gantt
Richard Potts, r-1
Norman Burce, dns, r-1
John Hanson, dns
Thomas Johnson, e-1
Thomas Beatty, e-2
Harford County
John Taylor
Benjamin Bradford Norris
John Rumsey, dns, r-1
James Giles, e-1
Kent County
William Stevenson
Peregrine Lethrbury
John Lambert Wilmer
John Cadwalader
Montgomery County
Thomas Cramphin, Jr.
William Bayly
Laurence O'Neale
Charles Hungerford
Prince George's County
David Craufurd
Thomas Duckett
Alexander H. Magurder
Thomas Clagett
Queen Anne's County
William Bruff, spkr-1,2r,2
James Kent, r-1, e-2
Robert Wright, r-1
Samuel Earle
Turbutt Wright, e-2, spkr-2r
St. Mary's County
James Mills
Edmund Plowden
Philip Key
John Mackall
Somerset County
John Winder
Thomas Maddux
Henry Jackson
John Done, dns
Talbot County
James Hindman
James Lloyd Chamberlaine, r-2
Nicholas Matin
Edward Lloyd
Washington County
Thomas Sprigg
John Stull, dns, r-1
Joseph Chapline
James Chapline
John Barnes, e-1
Worcester County
Henry Dennis
William Morris
Joseph Dashiell
Isaac Houston

1. Plater was elected president on January 29, 1781, to replace Jenifer who was "indisposed and unable to attend."
2. Wright was elected speaker on June 11, 1781, to replace Bruff who was absent because of illness. When Bruff returned on June 14, Wright withdrew, "being much indisposed," and Bruff was reelected speaker.
3. Brogden was a field officer in the militia at the time of his election. He was discharged on November 1, 1780, but was reelected and qualified on November 13.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright January 16, 2014Maryland State Archives