Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly of 1777 - 1778

First Session: October 21, 1777 - December 23, 17771
Second Session: March 13, 1778 - April 23, 17782
Third Session: June 1, 1778 - June 23, 17783

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer, President of the Senate
Nicholas Thomas, William Fitzhugh, Speaker of the House
Western Shore
Eastern Shore
George Plater
William Paca, r-1
Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer, pres
Charles Carroll, barrister
Charles Carroll of Carrollton
Thomas Stone
Brice T. B. Worthington
Thomas Contee
Charles Grahame
Thomas Jennings, e-3
Matthew Tilghman
Joseph Nicholson, Jr.
Robert Goldsborough
Turbett Wright
Samuel Wilson
William Hindman


House of Delegates
John Brice
Allen Quynn, r-1
Samuel Chase, e-1
Anne Arundel County
Thomas Tillard
Rezin Hammond, r-3
John Hall, r-3
Nicholas Worthington
Nicholas Maccubbin, Jr., e-3
Baltimore Town
John Smith
Jeremiah Townley Chase
Baltimore County
Thomas Cockey Deye
Charles Ridgely, r-1, e-2
John Stevenson
Peter Shepherd
Calvert County
William Fitzhugh, spkr-2,3
Samuel Hance, dns
Alexander Somerville, r-3
John Mackall, ds-14
Samuel Chew, e-1
Caroline County
William Douglass
Henry Dickinson
Henry Downes, dns, r-2
Richard Mason
Benson Stainton
Cecil County
John Veazy
John Ward
Amos Alexander
Stephen Hyland
Charles County
Zephaniah Turner, r-2
Thomas Semms
Alexander McPherson
James Forbes
Samuel Hanson, Jr., e-3, ds-35
Dorchester County
John Smoot
John Henry, Jr.
James Murray
Joseph Daffin
Frederick County
Charles Edelin
Philip Thomas
Jacob Young
Upton Sheredine
Harford County
Henry Wilson, Jr.
Jacob Bond
Aquila Hall
William Smithson
Kent County
Peregrine Lethrbury
John Maxwell
Ezekiel Forman, ds-16
John Cadwalader, dns, r-2
Richard Gresham, e-1
James Lloyd, e-2
Montgomery County
Edward Burgess
Elisha Williams
William Bayly
Richard Crabb
Prince George's County
Walter Bowie
Stephen West
Jeremiah Magurder
John Contee
Queen Anne's County
James Kent
William Bruff, r-1, e-2
Robert Wright, r-2
Richard Tilghman Earle
William Hemsley, e-2, dns
St. Mary's County
Athanasius Ford
John Hatton Read
Richard Barnes
Edawrd Plowden
Somerset County
Thomas Maddux
William Strawbridge
William Winder
Levin Wilson
Talbot County
Nicholas Thomas, spkr-1,2, r-2
John Benson, r-2
John Gibson
Howes Goldsborough
Robert Goldsborough, Jr., e-2
Samuel Chamberlaine, e-2, dns, r-2
William Goldsborough, e-3
Washington County
Joseph Sprigg
John Barnes
Samuel Hughes
Henry Schnebeley
Worcester County
Peter Chaille, dns, r-2
Nehemiah Holland, r-2
Thomas Purnell
William Holland, e-2, dns, ev, e-3, dns7
Thomas Holland, of Thomas, e-3, dns

1. The governor convened the General Assembly on October 21, 1777. Recorded proceedings begin for the Senate on October 22, and for the House on October 31.
2. Recorded proceedings for the Senate begin on March 13, 1778, and for the House on March 17.
3. The governor convened the General Assembly on June 1, 1778. Recorded proceedings begin for the Senate on June 4 and for the House on June 8.
4. Mackall was discharged on November 4, 1777, because he was not a resident of Calvert County at the time of his election.
5. On June 11, 1778, an objection to the recent election of Samuel Hanson, Jr., from Daniel Jenifer, who was second on the poll, was read. Hanson was discharged on June 17, because he had been a field
officer at the time of his election.
6. On November 4, 1777, Forman was determined ineligible to hold a seat in the House because of holding the office of Kent County clerk.
7. The election of Holland to replace Peter Chaille was declared void on April 6, 1778, because the sheriff of Worcester County, prior to holding the election, had resigned his commission. Holland was reelected to the third session, but did not serve.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright January 16, 2014Maryland State Archives