Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Proprietary Assembly of 1771

First Session: October 2, 1771 - November 30, 1771

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

Edward Tilghman, Speaker of the Lower House

Upper House
Charles Hammond
Richard Lee, dns
Benedict Calvert
Daniel Dulany
John Ridout
Walter Dulany
John Beale Bordley
George Steuart
William Fitzhugh
William Hayward
Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer
George Plater

Lower House
John Hall
William Paca
Anne Arundel County
Brice T. B. Worthington
Thomas Johnson, Jr.
Samuel Chase
John Hammond
Baltimore County
Samuel Owings, Jr.
John Moale
George Risteau
Thomas Cockey Deye
Calvert County
John Weems
Charles Grahame
Young Parran
Benjamin Mackall IV
Cecil County
John Veazey
Benjamin Rumsey
William Baxter
William Ward
Charles County
Josias Hawkins, ds-e1
Francis Ware, ds-e1
William Smallwood
Joseph Hanson Harrison
Dorchester County
Henry Steele
William Ennalls
Joseph Richardson
William Richardson
Frederick County
Jonathan Hagar, ds, e2
William Luckett
Charles Beatty
Thomas Sprigg Wooton
Kent County
Thomas Ringgold, dns
Richard Gresham
Stephen Boardley, dns, d
Robert Buchanan
William Ringgold, e
Prince George's County
Joseph Sim
Robert Tyler
Josias Beall
Thomas Contee
Queen Anne's County
Edward Tilghman, spkr
Richard Tilghman Earle
Thomas Wright
Solomon Wright
St. Mary's County
John Reeder, Jr.
Thomas Key, dns
William Thomas
Jeremiah Jordan
Somerset County
Levin Gale
Littleton Dennis
Isaac Handy
John Adams
Talbot County
Edward Lloyd
James Lloyd Chamberlaine
Nicholas Thomas
Matthew Tilghman
Worcester County
Nehemiah Holland
John Purnell Robins
William Allen
Peter Chaille

1. A petition was presented by Robert Hendly Courts of Charles County complaining about the improper election of Ware and Hawkins, charging them with "treating" at the polls. A new election was ordered on October 14, 1771. Both men were reelected and qualified on November 18, 1771.

2. The Committee of Elections and Privileges reported on October 5, 1771, that Hagar, although a naturalized Marylander, was "not a natural born Subject nor descended from a natural born Subject." He was determined to be ineligible for election and discharged on October 8. Three days later the Lower House introduced a bill that allowed naturalized subjects "all the Rights and Privileges of natural born Subjects." This bill became law on October 16. Hagar was reelected and qualified on November 16, but the dispute over his election continued.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright May 26, 2009Maryland State Archives