Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Proprietary Assembly of 1768 - 1770

First Session: May 24, 1768 - June 22, 1768
Second Session: November 17, 1769 - Dcember 20, 1769
Third Session: September 25, 1770 - November 2, 1770
Fourth Session: November 5, 1770 - November 21, 1770

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

Benjamin Tasker, Charles Hammond,1 President of the Upper House
Edward Tilghman, Brice T. B. Worthington,2 Speaker of the Lower House
Upper House
Benjamin Tasker, pres-1, d-1
Charles Hammond
Samuel Chamberlaine, r-2
Edward Lloyd, dns, r-s
Richard Lee
Benedict Calvert
Daniel Dulany
John Ridout
Walter Dulany
John Beale Bordley
George Steuart, a-2
William Fitzhugh, a-2
William Hayward, a-23

Lower House
John Hall
William Paca
Anne Arundel County
Samuel Chase
Brice T. B. Worthington, spkr-4, r
Thomas Johnson, Jr.
Henry Griffith
Baltimore County4
John Ridgely, ev-1, e-2, ev-2
Thomas Cockey Deye, ev-1, e-3
John Moale, ev-1, e-2, ev-2
Robert Adair, ev-1, e-2, ev-2
George Risteau, e-2, ev-2
John Paca, e-3
Aquila Hall, e-3
John Matthews, e-3
Calvert County
Benjamin Mackall, of James John
Young Parran
Edward Gantt
Charles Grahame
Cecil County
John Veazey
William Ward
William Baxter
Henry Baker, d-2
Joseph Gilpin, e-3
Charles County
Francis Ware
William Smallwood
John Hanson, Jr., ds-25
Joseph Hanson Harrison
Robert Hendly Courts, e-3
Dorchester County
Henry Hooper, Jr.
Daniel Sulivane
Philemon Lecompte, dns, d-2
Henry Steele
Edward Noelle, e-2
Frederick County
William Luckett
Thomas Cresap
Joseph Chapline, d-2
Thomas Jennings, ds-26
Andrew Heugh, e-2
Thomas Sprigg Wooton, e-2
Kent County
Robert Buchanan
Thomas Ringgold
Stephen Boardley
Richard Gresham
Prince George's County
Josias Beall
Robert Tyler
William Murdock, d-2
Francis Waring, dns, d-2
Thomas Contee, e-2
Mordecai Jacob, e-2
Queen Anne's County
Robert Lloyd, spkr-1, 2, d-3
Edward Tilghman, spkr-3, 4, r-4
James Hollyday
Thomas Wright
William Hopper, e-3
St. Mary's County
William Thomas
Thomas Key
John Eden
Daniel Wolstenholme
Somerset County
Levin Gale
Samuel Wilson
William Hayward, c-33
Thomas Dashiell
William Adams, e-3
Talbot County
John Goldsborough
Matthew Tilghman
James Dickinson
Nicholas Thomas
Worcester County
William Allen
Parker Selby, s-3
Joseph Dashiell
Zadock Purnell

1. After the death of Benjamin Tasker, Hammond assumed the senior position, but is not referred to as president in the proceedings.

2. Tilghman was chosen speaker at the beginning of the third session to fill the vacancy caused by Lloyd's death. He continued as speaker through the fourth session except for a period of three days (November 9-11) when illness forced him to withdraw. Worthington served as speaker during Tilghman's absence.

3. Originally elected a delegate to the Lower House, he was appointed to the Council on September 24, 1770.

4. The original election of delegates from Baltimore County was declared void on June 14, 1768, after complaints of "treating" and other irregularities were brought by John Hammond Dorsey, Charles Ridgely, Jr., and others. A second election was held on July 5, 1768. Three members of the original delegation were returned, with only Thomas Cockey Deye being unseated and George Risteau selected in his place. However, on November 18, 1769, a petition from sundry Baltimore inhabitants complaining of misconduct by the sheriff was presented to the Lower House at Deye's request. Consequently, on November 30, this election was also voided. Although Robert Adair had died one month before the beginning of the second session, no notice of his death had been given by the Lower House, and his election was voided with the others by this action. The third election returned Deye to his seat, along with John Paca, Aquila Hall, and John Matthews.

5. Hanson was discharged on November 25, 1769, after accepting the office of deputy surveyor of Frederick County.

6. Thomas Jennings was discharged on November 17, 1769, after accepting the office of attorney general.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright May 26, 2009Maryland State Archives