Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Proprietary Assembly of 1762 - 1763

First Session: March 17, 1762 - April 24, 1762
Second Session: October 4, 1763 - November 26, 1763

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; c - Council (Upper House); d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

Benjamin Tasker, President of the Upper House
Henry Hooper, Speaker of the Lower House
Upper House
Benjamin Tasker, pres
Charles Hammond
Samuel Chamberlaine
Philip Thomas, dns, d-2
Edward Lloyd
Richard Lee
Benedict Calvert
Robert Jenkins Henry
Daniel Dulany
Stephen Bordley
John Ridout
Charles Goldsborough, a-21
Philip Key, a-2

Lower House
George Steuart
Walter Dulanay
Anne Arundel County
Thomas Johnson
John Hammond
Brice T. B. Worthington
Henry Hall
Baltimore County
John Paca
Thomas Cockey Deye
John Hammond Dorsey
Corbin Lee
Calvert County
Charles Grahame
James John Mackall
Benjamin Mackall
Edward Gantt
Cecil County
Michael Earle
Henry Baker
Francis Mauldin, dns, d-1
William Ward
Nathan Baker, e-2
Charles County
William Smallwood
John Truman Stoddert
George Dent
John Hanson, Jr.
Dorchester County
Henry Hooper, spkr
John Cox Gray
Daniel Sulivane
Charles Goldsborough, c-21
Henry Steele, e-2
Frederick County
Joseph Chapline
Nathan Magruder
Thomas Beatty
Thomas Cresap
Kent County
William Hynson
Richard Lloyd
Simon Wilmer
Thomas Ringgold
Prince George's County
William Murdock
Mordecai Jacob
Josias Beall, Jr.
Francis Waring
Queen Anne's County
Robert Lloyd
Edward Tilghman
James Hollyday
Thomas Wright
St. Mary's County
Henry Greefield Sothoron
Edmund Key
George Plater
John Hall
Somerset County
William Hayward
William Waters
John Adams
William Adams
Talbot County
Pollard Edmondson
James Tilghman
John Goldsborough
William Thomas
Worcester County
Benton Harris
Parker Selby
William Allen
Peter Chaille

1. Originally elected a delegate to the Lower House, he was appointed to the Council in July 1762.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright May 26, 2009Maryland State Archives