Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Proprietary Assembly of 1758 - 1761

First Convention: October 23, 1758 - November 4, 1758
First Session: November 22, 1758 - December 23, 1758
Second Convention: April 4, 1759 - April 17, 1759
Second Session: March 22, 1760 - April 11, 1760
Third Session: September 26, 1760 - October 15, 1760
Third Convention: April 13, 1761 - May 6, 1761

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; c - Council (Upper House); d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

Benjamin Tasker, President of the Upper House
Henry Hooper, Speaker of the Lower House
Upper House
Benjamin Tasker, pres
Charles Hammond
Samuel Chamberlaine
Philip Thomas
Edward Lloyd
Benjamin Tasker, Jr., d-cv 3
Richard Lee
Benedict Calvert
Robert Jenkins Henry
William Goldsborough, d-3
Robert Jenkins Henry
Daniel Dulany, Jr.
Stephen Bordley, a-cv 2
John Ridout, a-cv 3

Lower House
Walter Dulanay
George Steuart, ev-1, e-cv 21
Anne Arundel County
Brice T. B. Worthington
Philip Hammond, d-3
Charles Carroll, barrister
John Gassaway
John Hammond, e-3
Baltimore County
Thomas Cockey Deye
William Govane
John Hammond Dorsey
Samuel Owings
Calvert County
Benjamin Mackall, Jr.
James John Mackall
William FItzhugh
Edward Gantt
Cecil County
Michael Earle
Henry Baker
Henry Ward, d-3
Francis Mauldin
John Veazey, e-cv 3
Charles County
Arthur Lee, d-3
John Hanson, Jr.
John Truman Stoddert
George Dent
William Smallwood, e-cv 3
Dorchester County
Henry Hooper, spkr
Charles Goldsborough
Daniel Sulivane
Henry Travers
Frederick County
Henry Wright Crabb
Joseph Chapline
Edward Dorsey, d-3
Thomas Cresap
Nathan Magruder, e-cv 3
Kent County
Alexander Williamson, d-3
Richard Gresham
John Tildon
William Hynson
Thomas Ringgold, e-cv 3
Prince George's County
William Murdock
George Fraser
Francis King
Mordecai Jacob
Queen Anne's County
William Hopper
Edward Tilghman
Robert Lloyd
Thomas Harris, d-2
Matthew Tilghman, e-3
St. Mary's County
Edmund Key, r-2
Henry Greefield Sothoron
George Plater
Thomas Greenfield
William Thomas, e-3
Somerset County
Henry Waggaman, d-cv 3
Levin Gale
Samuel Wilson
William Waters, Sr.
Talbot County
John Goldsborough
Pollard Edmondson
Samuel Bowman
Woolman Gibson
Worcester County
Benton Harris
John Scarborough
Benjamin Handy, s-1
Zadock Purnell
Parker Selby, e-cv 2

1. The validity of Steuart's election as a delegate from Annapolis was again questioned through petition from Henry Woodward, who sought to disqualify some of the votes cast for his opponent. After some discussion, both parties agreed to avoid "giving the House any further Trouble in this Controversy," and requested that the election "so far as it concerns them should be declared Void." The Lower House called for a new election, at which time Steuart was again returned. He requalified on April 4, 1759.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright May 26, 2009Maryland State Archives