Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Proprietary Assembly of 1757 - 1758

First Session: September 28, 1757 - December 16, 1757
Convention: February 13, 1758 - March 9, 1758
Second Session: March 28, 1758 - May 13, 1758

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; c - Council (Upper House); d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

Benjamin Tasker, President of the Upper House
Henry Hooper, Speaker of the Lower House
Upper House
Benjamin Tasker, pres
Charles Hammond
Samuel Chamberlaine
Philip Thomas, dns
Edward Lloyd
Benjamin Tasker, Jr.
Richard Lee
Benedict Calvert
William Goldsborough, d-3
Robert Jenkins Henry
Daniel Dulany, Jr.

Lower House
Walter Dulanay
George Steuart, ev-11
Henry Woodward1
Anne Arundel County
Brice T. B. Worthington
John Gassaway
Charles Carroll, barrister
Philip Hammond
Baltimore County
William Govane
John Hammond Dorsey
Thomas Cockey Deye
Samuel Owings
Calvert County
Benjamin Mackall
James John Mackall
Thomas Reynolds
Edward Gantt
Cecil County
Nicholas Hyland
Michael Earle
Henry Baker
Henry Ward
Charles County
John Hanson, Jr.
Arthur Lee
George Dent
John Truman Stoddert
Dorchester County
Henry Hooper, spkr
John Cox Gray
Daniel Sulivane
Philemon Lecompte
Frederick County
Joseph Chapline
Edward Dorsey
Thomas Beatty
Thomas Cresap
Kent County
John Tildon
William Rason
William Hynson
Alexander Williamson
Prince George's County
Thomas Gantt
George Fraser
Francis King
William Murdock
Queen Anne's County
Robert Lloyd
Emory Sudler
Edward Tilghman
John Bracco
St. Mary's County
George Plater
John Reeder, Jr.
Henry Greefield Sothoron
Edmund Key, ds-1, e-12
Somerset County
Samuel Wilson
Henry Waggaman
Henry Lowes
Levin Gale
Talbot County
Pollard Edmondson
Edward Oldham
John Goldsborough
Matthew Tilghman
Worcester County
John Scarborough
John Henry
Benjamin Handy
Benton Harris

1.  The petition of Henry Woodward, complaining of the illegal election of Steuart as a delegate from Annapolis, was upheld. On October 1, 1757, the Lower House ordered Steuart's name erased from the election return and Woodward's name inserted in its place.

2. Upon petition of the freeholders of St. Mary's County, Key's election was declared invalid and he was dismissed on October 12, 1757. A new election was called, and Key was returned, requalifying on November 19, 1757.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright May 26, 2009Maryland State Archives