Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Proprietary Assembly of 1754 - 1757

First Session: December 1, 1754 - December 24, 1754
Second Session: February 22, 1755 - March 26, 1755
Third Session: June 23, 1755 - July 8, 1755
Fourth Session: February 23, 1756 - May 22, 1756
Fifth Session: September 14, 1756 - October 9, 1756
Sixth Session: April 8, 1757 - May 9, 1757

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; c - Council (Upper House); d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

Benjamin Tasker, President of the Upper House
Henry Hooper, Alexander Williamson, Speaker of the Lower House
Upper House
Benjamin Tasker, pres
George Plater, d-3
Charles Hammond
Samuel Chamberlaine
Philip Thomas
Edward Lloyd
Benjamin Tasker, Jr.
Richard Lee
Benedict Calvert
William Goldsborough, a-2
Robert Jenkins Henry, a-5

Lower House
Walter Dulanay
Stephen Bordley, ds-51
Daniel Dulaney, Jr., e-5
Anne Arundel County
Henry Hall, d-4
Charles Carroll, d-4
John Gassaway
Philip Hammond
Charles Carroll, barrister, e-4
Brice T. B. Worthington, e-5
Baltimore County
William Govane
Walter Tolley
Lloyd Buchanan, ds-32
John Paca
William Smith, e-4
Calvert County
William Fitzhugh
Benjamin Mackall, Jr.
James John Mackall
Thomas Reynolds
Cecil County
Nicholas Hyland
Michael Earle
Henry Ward
Henry Baker
Charles County
Bayne Smallwood
John Stoddert
John Jordan
Henry Moore, r-4
Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer, e-4
Dorchester County
Charles Goldsborough
Henry Travers
John Cox Gray
Henry Hooper, spkr-1-5, r-5, 63
Frederick County
Henry Wright Crabb
Josiah Beall
Edward Sprigg
Joseph Chapline
Kent County
Richard Gresham
Alexander Williamson, spkr-5, 6, r3
Hugh Wallis
William Hynson
Prince George's County
John Addison
William Murdock
George Fraser
John Hawkins, Jr., d-6
Thomas Gantt, e-6
Queen Anne's County
Edward Tilghman
Henry Casson
John Bracco
Robert Lloyd
St. Mary's County
James Mills
Jeremiah Chase, d-3
Thomas Reeder
William Hicks
John Reeder, Jr., e-4
Somerset County
Robert Jenkins Henry, c-54
John Handy, d-6
John Dennis, Sr.
Henry Waggaman
Levin Gale, e-5
Talbot County
Matthew Tilghman
John Goldsborough
Pollard Edmondson
James Edge, d-6
Worcester County
John Scarborough, Sr.
John Henry
John Dennis, Jr., s-4
John Evans
Benjamin Handy, e-4

1. A new election for a delegate from Annapolis was called for on September 14, 1756, to replace Bordley, who had accepted the offices of attorney general of the province and naval officer of Annapolis.

2. Buchanan was discharged on June 28, 1755, for acting as prosecutor in the Baltimore County Court.

3. Williamson was chosen speaker of the Lower House on September 30, 1756, to replace the ailing Henry Hooper. On April 13, 1757, Williamson was reported ill, and Hooper was returned to the speaker's chair.

4. Originally elected a delegate to the Lower House, he was appointed to the Council on May 22, 1756.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright May 26, 2009Maryland State Archives