Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Proprietary Assembly of 1749 - 1751

Convention: May 9, 1749 -  May 11, 1749
First Session: May 24, 1749 - June 24, 1749
Second Session: May 8, 1750 - June 2, 1750
Third Session: May 15, 1751 - June 8, 1751

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; c - Council (Upper House); d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

Benjamin Tasker, President of the Upper House
Philip Hammond, Speaker of the Lower House
Upper House
Benjamin Tasker, pres
George Plater
Edmund Jennings
Charles Hammond
Samuel Chamberlaine
Philip Thomas
Daniel Dulanay
Edward Lloyd
Benjamin Young
Benjamin Tasker, Jr., dns
Richard Lee
Benedict Calvert

Lower House
Robert Gordan
Walter Dulanay, ds-2, e-21
Anne Arundel County
Philip Hammond, spkr
Thomas Worthington
Charles Carroll
Stephen Bordley
Baltimore County
George Buchanan, d-2
John Paca
Thomas Sheredine, s-3
Darby Lux, d-3
William Smith, e-2
John Matthews, e-3
Walter Tolley, e-3, ds-3
Thomas Franklin,  e-32
Calvert County
James John Mackall
James Heighe
Benjamin Mackall, Jr.
Benson Bond, d-3
Thomas Reynolds, e-3
Cecil County3
Benjamin Pearce, ev-1
Peter Bayard, ev-1
John Baldwin, ev-1
Richard Thompson, ev-1
Thomas Colvill, e-2
Nicholas Hyland, e-2
Henry Baker, e-2
James Baxter, e-2
Charles County
John Stoddert
Bayne Smallwood
Jonathan Willson
Arthur Lee
Dorchester County
Henry Hooper
Philemon Lecompte
Daniel Sulivane
Henry Travers
Frederick County
Henry Wright Crabb
Joseph Chapline
Daniel Dulany, Jr., ev-14
John Smith Prather4
Kent County
Matthias Harris
Richard Lloyd
Simon Wilmer
Nicholas Smith
Prince George's County
Turner Wooton
Edward Sprigg
John Addison
William Murdock
Queen Anne's County
Edward Tilghman, ds-21
William Hopper
Thomas Wilkinson
Nathanial Wright, e-2, dns, ds-25
John Tillotson, e-3
St. Mary's County6
Zachariah Bond, ev-1, e-2
Abraham Barnes, ev-1, e-2
James Mills, ev-1, e-2
Philip Key, ev-1, e-2
Somerset County
Robert King
Robert Jenkins Henry
Isaac Handy
Henry Waggaman
Talbot County
John Goldsborough
Nicholas Goldsborough
Robert Lloyd
Edward Oldham
Worcester County
Thomas Robins
John Selby
John Scarborough
John Henry

1. Dulany and Tilghman were discharged from the Lower House on May 9, 1750óDulany for accepting the office of deputy commissary of Anne Arundel County, and Tilghman for accepting the office of keeper of the rent rolls for the Eastern Shore. Dulany was subsequently reelected to the Lower House, and took his seat on May 16, 1750.

2. Tolley was discharged from the Lower House on June 1, 1751, for serving as an inspector of tobacco. Thomas Franklin, who had received the second highest number of votes cast, was declared the duly elected delegate and took his seat on June 4, 1751.

3. Upon petition of various freeholders of Cecil County, the Lower House decided on June 6, 1749, that the election for delegates from Cecil County was not a free election, and was therefore null and void. A new election was called for, at which four different delegates were returned.

4. Upon the petition of Prather, complaining of an illegal election and return by the sheriff of Frederick County, the Lower House determined on June 8, 1749, that Dulany had not been properly elected. Prather was declared the winner, and took his seat on June 9, 1749.

5. Wright, who was elected to replace Edward Tilghman, was disqualified from serving on June 1, 1750, because he continuted to act as inspector of tobacco after his election.

The election of the St. Mary's County delegation was declared null and void on June 10, 1749, because of the illegal conduct of the sheriff, Robert Chesley. All delegates were subsequently reelected and returned on May 8, 1750.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright May 26, 2009Maryland State Archives