Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Proprietary Assembly of 1745

First Session: August 5, 1745 - September 28, 1745

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; c - Council (Upper House); d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

Benjamin Tasker, President of the Upper House
Edward Sprigg, Speaker of the Lower House
Upper House
Benjamin Tasker, pres
George Plater
Edmund Jennings
James Hollyday
Charles Hammond
Samuel Chamberlaine
Philip Thomas
Daniel Dulanay
Edward Lloyd
Benjamin Young
Benjamin Tasker, Jr.
Richard Lee

Lower House
Robert Gordan
Geroge Steuart
Stephen Bordley, ev1
Anne Arundel County
Henry Hall
Charles Carroll
Philip Hammond
Thomas Worthington
Baltimore County
Thomas Sheredine
John Hall
George Buchanan
John Paca
Calvert County
Walter Smith
Joseph Hall
John Brome
James John Mackall
Cecil County
Benjamin Pearce
Nicholas Hyland
Thomas Colvill
Joshua George
Charles County
Bayne Smallwood
Richard Harrison
William Wilkinson
John Courts
Dorchester County
Henry Hooper
Bartholomew Ennalls
Philemon Lecompte
Daniel Sulivane, ds2
Kent County
Richard Gresham
George Willson
John Gresham
Matthias Harris
Prince George's County
Edward Sprigg, spkr
John Addison
Osborn Sprigg
Turner Wooton
Queen Anne's County
Thomas Wilkinson
Grundy Pemberton
William Hopper
Thomas Hammond
St. Mary's County
Zachariah Bond
Samuel Abell
Abraham Barnes
James Mills, ev3
Somerset County
William Stoughton
David Wilson
John Dennis
Robert King
Talbot County
John Goldsborough
Robert Lloyd
William Thomas
Nicholas Goldsborough
Worcester County
John Henry
John Purnell
Abraham Outten
Patrick Selby

1. Steuart was dismissed on August 10, after the petition of Stephen Bordley complaining of an irregular election was upheld. Bordley was determined duly elected, and took his seat.

2. Sulivane continued to act as undersheriff of Dorchester County after the date of the election was posted. He was therefore not qualified to stand for election, and was discharged on August 29, 1745.

3. The sheriff of St. Mary's County cast the deciding vote after James Mills and James Swan tied in the election. Mills attended as a delegate, but was dismissed on August 29, after the Lower House decided that the action of the sheriff was illegal.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright May 26, 2009Maryland State Archives