Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Proprietary Assembly of 1745/46 - 1748

First Convention: March 12, 1745/46 - March 29, 1746
First Session: June 17, 1746 - July 8, 1746
Second Session: November 6, 1746 - November 12, 1746
Third Session: May 16, 1747 - July 11, 1747
Second Convention: December 22, 1747 - December 23, 1747
Forth Session: May 10, 1748 - June 11, 1748

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; c - Council (Upper House); d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

Benjamin Tasker, President of the Upper House
Edward Sprigg, Speaker of the Lower House
Upper House
Benjamin Tasker, pres
George Plater
Edmund Jennings
James Hollyday, d-cv 2
Charles Hammond
Samuel Chamberlaine
Philip Thomas
Daniel Dulanay
Edward Lloyd
Benjamin Young
Benjamin Tasker, Jr.
Richard Lee
Benedict Calvert, a-4

Lower House
Robert Gordan
Walter Dulanay
Anne Arundel County
Henry Hall
Philip Hammond
Charles Carroll
Thomas Worthington
Baltimore County
Thomas Sheredine
John Hall
George Buchanan
John Paca
Calvert County
Walter Smith
Joseph Hall
John Brome
James John Mackall
Cecil County
Nicholas Hyland
Joshua George
Benjamin Pearce
Peter Bayard
Charles County
Bayne Smallwood
Richard Harrison
William Wilkinson
John Courts, d-4
William Middleton, e-4
Dorchester County
Henry Hooper
Philemon Lecompte
Bartholomew Ennalls
Francis Lee, ds-11
Daniel Sulivane, e-2
Kent County
John Gresham
George Willson
Richard Gresham
Matthias Harris
Prince George's County
Edward Sprigg, spkr
Turner Wooton
John Addison
John Stoddert
Queen Anne's County
William Hopper
Thomas Hammond
Grundy Pemberton
Edward Tilghman
St. Mary's County
Philip Key
Zachariah Bond
Abraham Barnes
James Mills
Somerset County
William Stoughton, ds-32
Robert King
George Dashiell
John Dennis, s-3
Isaac Handy, e-3
Robert Jenkins Henry, e-3
Talbot County
Nicholas Goldsborough
William Thomas
Robert Lloyd
John Goldsborough
Worcester County
John Henry
John Purnell
Thomas Robins
John Scarborough

1. Lee was discharged on June 20, 1746, after accepting the office of county clerk.

2. Stoughton was discharged on May 18, 1747, after accepting the position of deputy naval officer of Pocomoke.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright May 26, 2009Maryland State Archives