Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Proprietary Assembly of 1742 - 1744

First Session: September 21, 1742 - October 29, 1742
Second Session: May 1, 1744 - June 4, 1744

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; c - Council (Upper House); d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

Benjamin Tasker, President of the Upper House
Edward Sprigg, Speaker of the Lower House
Upper House
John Rousby, dns
Benjamin Tasker, pres
Philip Lee, d-2
George Plater
Edmund Jennings
James Hollyday
Charles Hammond
Levin Gale, d-2
James Harris, d-2
Samuel Chamberlaine
Philip Thomas
Daniel Dulanay, a-11
Edward Lloyd, a-2

Lower House
Daniel Dulany, c-11
Robert Gordan
Benjamin Tasker, Jr., e-1
Anne Arundel County
Charles Carroll
Philip Hammond
Henry Hall
Thomas Worthington
Baltimore County
Thomas Sheredine
Richard Caswell
Aquila Paca, d-2
Daniel Scott
John Paca, e-2
Calvert County
Walter Smith
James Weems
Joseph Hall
John Brome
Cecil County
Joshua George
Thomas Colvill
Benjamin Pearce
Nicholas Hyland
Charles County
Bayne Smallwood
Richard Harrison
William Wilkinson
Robert Yates, d-2
John Courts, e-2
Dorchester County
Henry Trippe
Bartholomew Ennalls
Jacob Hindman
Philemon Lecompte
Kent County
Richard Gresham
George Willson
James Calder
John Gresham
Prince George's County
John Magruder
Edward Sprigg, spkr
Turner Wooton
Osborn Sprigg
Queen Anne's County
Grundy Pemberton
Robert Norrest Wright
Thomas Wilkinson
Thomas Hammond
St. Mary's County
James Waughop
James Swan
John Griffith
Robert Chesley
Somerset County
Robert King
William Stoughton
George Gale
James Martin, s-2
David Wilson, e-2
Talbot County
Nicholas Goldsborough
Robert Lloyd
William Thomas
John Goldsborough
Worcester County2
John Purnell, e-2
Thomas Robins, e-2
Patrick Selby, e-2
John Henry, e-2

1. Although Dulany was elected to the Lower House, he was appointed to the Council at the beginning of the first session

2. The law erecting Worcester County was passed at the first session. The delegates were seated at the second.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright May 26, 2009Maryland State Archives