Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Proprietary Assembly of 1739 - 1741

Convention: May 1, 1739 - June 12, 1739
First Session: April 23, 1740 - June 5, 1740
Second Session: July 7, 1740 - July 29, 1740
Third Session: May 26, 1741 - June 22, 1741

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; c - Council (Upper House); d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

Matthew Tilghman Ward, Benjamin Tasker, President of the Upper House
John Mackall, Philip Hammond, Robert King,1 Speaker of the Lower House
Upper House
Matthew Tilghman Ward, pres-cv, 1, 2, d-3
John Rousby, dns
Benjamin Tasker, pres-3
Philip Lee
John Rider, dns, d-1
George Plater
Edmund Jennings
James Hollyday
Charles Hammond
Levin Gale
James Harris, a-cv
Samuel Chamberlaine, a-cv

Lower House
Daniel Dulany
Robert Gordan
Anne Arundel County
Charles Carroll
Vachel Denton
Philip Hammond, spkr-1, 2, 3, r-3
Thomas Gassaway, d-1
Henry Hall, e-1
Baltimore County
Thomas Sheredine
Roger Matthews, d-3
John Moale, d-1
Richard Caswell
Richard Gist, e-1
Aquila Paca, e-2
Calvert County
John Mackall, spkr-cv, d-1
Walter Smith
James Weems
Joseph Hall
John Brome, e-1
Cecil County
Joshua George
Thomas Colvill
William Rumsey
Thomas Johnson, dns, d-cv
Benjamin Pearce, e-cv
Charles County
Robert Hanson
Bayne Smallwood
William Middleton
John Courts
Dorchester County
Henry Hooper
Henry Trippe,ds-2, e-32
Bartholomew Ennalls
John Brannock, d-3
Jacob Hindman, e-3
Kent County
Charles Hynson
George Willson
William Harris
James Calder
Prince George's County
Turner Wooton
Edward Sprigg
John Magruder
Osborn Sprigg
Queen Anne's County
Grundy Pemberton
Solomon Clayton, d-1
Thomas Wilkinson
Edward Wright, d-3
Robert Norrest Wright, e-1
Thomas Hammond, e-3
St. Mary's County
John Read
James Waughop
James Swan
Thomas Asquith
Somerset County
Robert King, spkr-3
William Stoughton
Robert Jenkins Henry
John Gale
Talbot County
Nicholas Goldsborough
William Thomas
Edward Lloyd
Robert Lloyd

1. Hammond was chosen speaker of the Lower House at the beginning of the first session after the death of John Mackall. He resigned as speaker on June 11, 1741, because of the increasing indisposition of his son, and was replaced by King.

2. Trippe was discharged from the Lower House on July 21, 1740, for accepting the position of deputy commissary of Dorchester County after his election. The governor, objecting strongly to this action, decided to prorogue the Assembly. Trippe was reelected and qualified on June 4, 1741.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright May 26, 2009Maryland State Archives