Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Proprietary Assembly of 1738

Convention: May 3, 1738 - May 23, 1738

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; c - Council (Upper House); d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

Richard Tilghman, President of the Upper House
John Mackall, Speaker of the Lower House
Upper House
Richard Tilghman, pres
Matthew Tilghman Ward
John Rousby, dns
Benjamin Tasker
Philip Lee
John Rider, dns
George Plater
Edmund Jennings
James Hollyday
Charles Hammond
Levin Gale, a1

Lower House
Daniel Dulany, dns, r2
Charles Carroll
Robert Gordan
Anne Arundel County
Daniel Dulany2
Vachel Denton
Philip Hammond
Samuel Smith
Baltimore County
Thomas Sheredine
Roger Matthews
John Moale
Richard Caswell
Calvert County
John Mackall, spkr
Benjamin Mackall
Walter Smith
James Weems
Cecil County
Joshua George
Thomas Colvill
William Rumsey
Alphonso Cosden, dns, d
Charles County
John Courts
William Middleton
Bayne Smallwood
Robert Hanson
Dorchester County
Henry Hooper
Henry Trippe
Bartholomew Ennalls
John Brannock
Kent County
George Willson
Philip Kennard
Thomas Smith
Charles Hynson
Prince George's County
John Stoddert
Edward Sprigg
John Magruder
Turner Wooton
Queen Anne's County
Grundy Pemberton
Solomon Clayton
Thomas Wilkinson
Edward Wright
St. Mary's County
John Read
James Waughop
James Swan
Thomas Asquith
Somerset County
Levin Gale1
Robert King
William Stoughton
Robert Jenkins Henry
Talbot County
Nicholas Goldsborough
William Thomas
Edward Lloyd
Robert Lloyd

1. Although Gale was elected to the Lower House, he was appointed to the Council during this Assembly.

2. Dulany was elected to represent both Annapolis and Anne Arundel County. He selected the latter seat, and Robert Gordon filled the vacancy left in Annapolis.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright May 26, 2009Maryland State Archives