Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Proprietary Assembly of 1732 - 1734

First Session: July 11, 1732 - August 8, 1732
Second Session: March 13, 1732-33 - April 12m 1733
Convention: March 19, 1733/34 - March 25, 1734

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; c - Council (Upper House); d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

Samuel Ogle, John Hall,1 President of the Upper House
John Mackall, Speaker of the Lower House
Upper House
Charles Calvert, d-cv1
William Holland, dns, d-2
John Hall1
Philemon Lloyd, d-cv
Richard Tilghman
Matthew Tilghman Ward
John Rousby
Benjamin Tasker
Philip Lee
John Rider
Michael Howard
George Plater
Edmund Jennings, a-2
Samuel Ogle, a-2, pres-2, r-cv1

Lower House
Willam Cummings
Robert Gordan, ev, e-1,2 ds-cv3
Anne Arundel County
Daniel Dulany, ds-cv3
John Beale, ds-cv3
Philip Hammond
Richard Warfield
Baltimore County
Daniel Scott
Thomas Sheredine
William Hamilton
Roger Matthews
Calvert County
John Mackall, spkr
Benjamin Mackall
Walter Smith
Adderton Skinner
Cecil County
Joshua George
Ephraim Augustus Herman, dns, d-1
John Ward
Joseph Wood
Charles County
John Courts
William Middleton
Robert Hanson
Henry Hawkins
Dorchester County
Peter Taylor
Henry Hooper
Thomas Woolford
John Brannock
Kent County
Ebenezer Blackiston
George Willson
Matthew Howard
Christopher Hall
Prince George's County
John Magruder
Edward Sprigg
Ralph Crabb, d-cv
Joseph Belt
Queen Anne's County
Solomon Clayton
William Hemsley
William Elliot
Edward Wright
St. Mary's County
Thomas Waughop
Justinian Jordan
John Read
Richard Hopewell
Somerset County
Levin Gale, ds-cv3
Francis Allen
John Caldwell
George Dashiell
Talbot County
John Edmondson
Perry Benson
Edward Needles
Nicholas Goldsborough

1. The proprietor Charles Calvert, 5th Lord Baltimore, arrived during the winter of 1732 and assumed the office of governor. Ogle, formerly the governor, was appointed and sworn to the Council on March 21, 1732/33. He was listed in the first position of the Council and Upper House before Charles Calvert (the councilor), who had previously held that position. Ogle used the title of president in correspondence during his term on the Council and in the Upper House. He reassumed the office of governor on June 20, 1733. After the death of Charles Calvert (the councilor) in February 1733/34, John Hall assumed the first position on the Council and in the Upper House.

2. Robert Gordon and Vachel Denton received an equal number of votes in the original election. Although Gordon was declared the winner and appeared in the Lower House as one of the Annapolis delegates, the election was disputed. On July 19, 1732, it was determined that Gordon had not been duly elected because of improper procedures. Gordon, however, won the subsequent election and was requalified one week later on July 26, 1732.

3. Dulany, Beale, Gale, and Gordon were discharged by the Lower House on March 25, 1734, for receiving places of trust and profit from the government after their elections. Governor Ogle then dissolved the entire Assembly in objection to this action.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright May 26, 2009Maryland State Archives