Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Proprietary Assembly of 1728 - 1731

First Session: October 3, 1728 - November 2, 1728
Second Session: July 10, 1729 - August 8, 1729
Third Session: May 21, 1730 - June 16, 1730
Fourth Session: July 13, 1731 - July 29, 1731
Fifth Session: August 19, 1731 - September 6, 1731

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; c - Council (Upper House); d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

John Mackall, Speaker of the Lower House
Upper House
Edward Henry Calvert, d-31
William Holland
John Hall
Philemon Lloyd
Richard Tilghman
Matthew Tilghman Ward
John Rousby
Benjamin Tasker
Philip Lee
Nicholas Lowe, d-2
Charles Calvert2
John Rider, a-2

Lower House
Robert Gordan
Edmund Jennings
Anne Arundel County
John Beale
Daniel Dulany
Richard Warfield
Thomas Worthington
Baltimore County
William Hamilton
Daniel Scott
Thomas Tolley
Roger Matthews
Calvert County
John Mackall, spkr
Benjamin Mackall
Walter Smith, of Leonard's Creek
Adderton Skinner
Cecil County
Thomas Johnson, Jr.
Ephraim Augustus Herman
Stephen Knight
Joshua George
Charles County
Robert Hanson
John Fendall
John Courts
Samuel Hanson
Dorchester County
John Brannock
Peter Taylor
John Kirke
William Ennalls, ds-2, e-23
Kent County
James Harris
Philip Kennard
George Willson
Ebenezer Blackiston
Prince George's County
John Magruder
Samuel Pierre, d-2
Ralph Crabb
Joseph Belt
Edward Sprigg, e-2
Queen Anne's County
Augustine Thompson
William Elliot
William Hemsley
William Turbutt
St. Mary's County
Thomas Trueman Greenfield
Thomas Waughop
Philip Key
John Young
Somerset County
Robert King
Levin Gale
George Dashiell
William Stoughton
Talbot County
James Hollyday
George Robins
Samuel Chamberlaine
John Edmondson

1. Edward Henry Calvert, brother of the proprietor, was appointed "the first person" of the Council on June 19, 1728, and was sworn in on February 6, 1728/29.

2. Charles Calvert was promoted to the first position on the Council after the death of Edward Henry Calvert in April 1730.

3. Dismissed on October 12, 1728, after it was decided that he had not been duly elected. He was reelected and subsequently qualified on July 11, 1729.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright May 27, 2009Maryland State Archives