Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Proprietary Assembly of 1722 - 1724

First Session: October 9, 1722 - November 3, 1722
Second Session: September 23, 1723 - October 26, 1723
Third Session: October 6, 1724 - November 4, 1724

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; c - Council (Upper House); d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

Robert Ungle, Speaker of the Lower House
Upper House
Thomas Brooke, ds-21
William Holland
Samuel Young
John Hall
Thomas Addison
Philemon Lloyd
Richard Tilghman
Matthew Tilghman Ward
James Bowles
John Rousby
James Lloyd, a-1, d-32
Benjamin Tasker, a-1

Lower House
Thomas Humphreys
Daniel Dulany
Anne Arundel County
Thomas Bordley
Joseph Hill, d-3
John Beale
Richard Warfield
Daniel Mariatee, e-3
Baltimore County
Thomas Tolley
William Hamilton
John Taylor
Thomas Hammond
Calvert County
John Mackall
Benjamin Mackall
Walter Smith
William Young
Cecil County
John Ward
Josiah Sutton
Francis Mauldin
William Freeman
Charles County
George Dent
Henry Holland Hawkins
John Courts
Joseph Harrison
Dorchester County
Henry Hooper
Matthew Travers
John Hudson, Secundus
Edward Pritchett
Kent County
Samuel Wallis, d-3
Robert Dunn
Philip Kennard
William Blackiston
Ebenezer Blackiston, e-3
Prince George's County
Robert Tyler
James Stoddart
Ralph Crabb
Thomas Gantt
Queen Anne's County
Edward Wright
John Chaires
William Elliot
Solomon Wright
St. Mary's County
William Watts, d-3
Justinian Jordan
Thomas Waughop
John Read
Somerset County
Nathanial Hopkins
Robert King
Thomas Purnell, d-2
William Whittington
George Dashiell, e-3
Talbot County
Robert Ungle, spkr
James Lloyd, c-12
Daniel Sherwood
John Oldham
Thomas Bozman, e-2

1. The precise reason for Brooke's dismissal is unknown.

2. Originally elected a delegate to the Lower House from Talbot County, James Lloyd was appointed to the Council on the last day of the first session.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright May 27, 2009Maryland State Archives