Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Proprietary Assembly of 1719 - 1721/22

First Session: May 14, 1719 - June 6, 1719
Second Session: April 2, 1720 - April 22, 1720
Third Session: October 11, 1720  - October 27, 1720
Fourth Session: July 18, 1721 - August 5, 1721
Fifth Session: February 20, 1721/22 - February 28, 1721/22

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; c - Council (Upper House); d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

Robert Ungle, Speaker of the Lower House
Upper House
Thomas Brooke
William Holland
Samuel Young
John Hall
Thomas Addison
Philemon Lloyd
Richard Tilghman
Henry Lowe, d-5
Matthew Tilghman Ward
Thomas Bordley, a-2, ds-51
James Bowles, a-3
John Rousby, a-52

Lower House
Thomas Bordley, c-21
John Beale, ds-23
Benjamin Tasker, e-2
Amos Garrett, e-2
Anne Arundel County
Joseph Hill
Daniel Mariatee
Edmond Benson
Richard Warfield
Baltimore County
James Maxwell
Francis Dollahyde, d-4
James Philips, d-2
Richard Colegate, d-5
Roger Matthews, e-3
John Dorsey, e-5
Calvert County
John Mackall
John Rousby, c-52
Walter Smith
Benjamin Mackall
Cecil County
William Dare, s-4
Ephraim Augustus Herman
James Frisby, d-2
Roger Larramore4
Stephen Knight, e-3, ds-35
John Ward, e-5
Charles County
John Parry, d-2
John Fendall
George Dent
Robert Hanson
Alexander Contee, e-3
Dorchester County
Roger Woolford
John Brannock
John Rider
Peter Taylor, ev-1, e-26
Kent County
Nathanial Hynson, d-4
James Smith
St. Ledger Codd
Lambert Wilmer
Prince George's County
James Stoddart
Robert Tyler
Philip Lee
Ralph Crabb
Queen Anne's County
Charles Wright, d-3
Thomas Fisher
James Earle, Sr.
William Turbutt
James Earle, Jr., e-4
St. Mary's County
Henry Peregrine Jowles, d-2
Thomas Trueman Greenfield, s-3, e-4
George Clarke
Thomas Waughop
John Baker, e-4
Somerset County
Benjamin Wailes
John Jones
John Caldwell
George Dashiell
Talbot County
Robert Ungle, spkr
James Lloyd
Thomas Emerson, d-2
Thomas Edmondson
William Clayton, e-3

1. Originally elected a delegate to the Lower House, Bordley was appointed to the Council by April 6, 1720. However, in a letter dated September 1721, he was discharged from further service as a councilor after angering Governor Calvert with what the governor termed "Council of pernicious Consequence." In February 1721/22, the governor declared that since membership on the Council was the only qualification for membership in the Upper House, Bordley's discharge from the Council also removed him from service in the Upper House.

2. Originally elected a delegate to the Lower House, Rousby was appointed to the Council prior to the fifth session.

3. The election of a new delegate from Annapolis was called for on April 6, 1720, to replace Beale, who had become clerk of the Council prior to the second session.

4. Although his first name was usually given as Roger in the Lower House journal, it was occasionally listed as Robert.

5. Knight was asked to withdraw from the Lower House on October 14, 1720, after the Committee of Elections and Privileges reported that no indenture was returned from the sheriff for his election. The sheriff was fined for not fulfilling his duties.

6. The election of Taylor was declared void on May 19, 1719, after the Lower House determined that the sheriff had been "very partiall and remiss in his Duty." He was declared duly reelected on April 7, 1720.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright May 27, 2009Maryland State Archives