Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Proprietary Assembly of 1716 - 1718

Convention: April 24, 17161
First Session: July 17, 1716 - August 10, 1716
Second Session: May 28, 1717 - June 8, 17172
Third Session: April 22, 1718 - May 10, 1718

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; c - Council (Upper House); d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

Matthew Tilghman Ward, Speaker of the Lower House
Upper House
Thomas Brooke
Edward Lloyd
William Holland
William Coursey, d-3
Thomas Ennalls
Samuel Young
John Hall
William Whittington, r-2
Thomas Addison
Philemon Lloyd
Richard Tilghman
Thomas Smith
Henry Lowe, a-2

Lower House
Thomas Bordley
Benjamin Tasker, s-3
John Beale, e-3
Anne Arundel County
Daniel Mariatee
Joseph Hill
Alexander Warfield
Richard Warfield
Baltimore County
James Maxwell
Richard Colegate
Francis Dollahyde
Peter Bond, d-3
Calvert County
John Mackall
John Rousby
Nathanial Dare
William Young
Cecil County
Matthias Vanderheyden
Ephraim Augustus Herman
John Ward
James Frisby
Charles County
Philip Hoskins, d-3
Thomas Dent
John Fendall
Samuel Hanson
Dorchester County
John Brannock
Peter Taylor
Tobias Pollard
John Meekins
Kent County
St. Ledger Codd
James Harris
Edward Scott
Nathanial Hynson
Prince George's County
Robert Tyler
Josiah Wilson, d-3
James Stoddart
John Bradford
Queen Anne's County
Charles Wright
William Turbutt
John Hawkins, d-3
Edward Wright4
St. Mary's County
Thomas Trueman Greenfield4
Henry Peregrine Jowles
John Baker
Thomas Waughop
Somerset County
Thomas Dashiell
William Whittington
John Purnell
Samuel Hopkins
Talbot County
Matthew Tilghman Ward, spkr
Thomas Robins
James Lloyd
Thomas Emerson

1. The one-day convention, held on April 24, 1716, is reported in the Lower House journal. Although no journal for the Upper House has survived, it was in session.

2. The recorded Lower House proceedings for the second session begin on May 28, 1717. The recorded proceedings for the Upper House begin on May 29, 1717.

3. Greenfield, of St. Mary's County, and Wright, of Queen Anne's County, had one-half their allowance deducted for departing in "a contemptuous manner" without permission from the Lower House.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright May 27, 2009Maryland State Archives