Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Royal Assembly of 1708a

First Session: September 27, 1708 - Octobet 5, 1708

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; c - Council (Upper House); d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

Thomas Smithson, Speaker of the Lower House
Upper House
Francis Jenkins
Edward Lloyd
William Holland
Kenlm Cheseldyne
Thomas Ennalls
William Coursey
Robert Quarry, dns
Samuel Young
Thomas Greenfield
Philip Lynes

Lower House
William Bladen, ev
Wornell Hunt, ev
Anne Arundel County
Joseph Hill
Richard Jones
Charles Greenberry
Daniel Mariatee
Baltimore County
Richard Colegate
James Maxwell
James Phillips
William Pickett
Calvert County
Walter Smith
John Mackall
Robert Skinner
Nathaniel Dare
Cecil County
Thomas Frisby
Matthias Vanderheyden
John Ward
John Hynson, dns, d
Charles County
James Smallwood
William Stone
John Beale
William Harbert
Dorchester County
Hugh Eccleston
Roger Woolford
Joseph Ennalls
John Hudson
Kent County
William Frisby
Samuel Wallis, ev2
John Carvile
Thomas Covington
Daniel Pearce
Prince George's County
Robert Bradley
Thomas Brooke, dns3
John Bradford
Robert Tyler
Queen Anne's County
John Salter
John Whittington
Solomon Wright
Philemon Hemsley
St. Mary's County4
John Coode, ev
Thomas Trueman Greenfield, ev
Henry Peregrine Jowles, ev
Joshua Gilbert, ev
Somerset County
John West
George Gale
Samuel Worthington
John Franklyn
Talbot County
Thomas Smithson, spkr
Nicholas Lowe
Thomas Robins
Robert Ungle

1. The Lower House, following receipt of objections from residents of Annapolis about the city's charter issued by Governor Seymour, ruled that the charter was invalid and thus rendered void the election of representatives from the city.

2. Originally elected over John Carvile, Wallis's status as a freeholder in the county was successfully challenged, and he declined to swear that he possessed personal property worth £40 sterling. Carvile was then elected in Wallis's place by general consent.

3. The former councilor was in Virginia and did not attend this Assembly.

4. All four delegates from St. Mary's County were denied seats and their elections voided because the sheriff had not properly proclaimed the time and place of the election. Also, St. Mary's City ceased having representation in the Lower House with this Assembly. The writ of election was returned with the statement that no one was present in the town to hold an election.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright May 27, 2009Maryland State Archives