Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Royal Assembly of 1704 - 1707

First Session: September 2, 1704 - October 3, 1704
Second Session: December 5, 1704 - December 9, 1704
Third Session: May 15, 1705 - May 25, 1705
Fourth Session: April 2, 1706 - April 19, 1706
Fifth Session: March 26, 1707 - April 15, 1707

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; c - Council (Upper House); d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

William Dent, Thomas Smith, Speaker of the Lower House
Upper House
Thomas Tench
John Addison, d-4
Thomas Brooke1
Robert Smith, d-5
John Hammond
Francis Jenkins
Edward Lloyd
William Holland
Kenelm Cheseldyne
Thomas Ennalls
William Coursey
Robert Quarry, dns

Lower House
Anne Arundel County
Samuel Young
Charles Greenberry
John Hammond, ds-12
Joseph Hill
Richard Jones, e-1
Baltimore County
Edward Dorsey, d-4
James Maxwell
James Phillips
Francis Dollahyde, s-5
John Hall, e-5
Richard Colegate, e-5
Calvert County
Robert Skinner
John Mackall
Thomas Howe
John Leech
Cecil County
William Pearce
Edward Blay
Thomas Frisby
William Dare
Charles County
William Dent, spkr-1, d-2
James Smallwood
William Stone
John Contee, e-3
Gerard Fowke
Dorchester County
Hugh Eccleston
John Taylor, d-4
John Hudson
Joseph Ennalls
Roger Woolford, e-5
Kent County
Thomas Smith, spkr-2, 3, 4, 5
William Frisby
Elias King, d-5
John Wells
Prince George's County
Thomas Greenfield
William Barton, d-4
Robert Tyler
Samuel Magruder
Robert Bradley, e-4
St. Mary's City
George Muschamp
James Hay
St. Mary's County
Thomas Beale
William Watts
William Asquith
Peter Watts
Somerset County
John Waters
Joseph Gray
John Jones
John McClester
Talbot County
Thomas Smithson
Robert Goldsborough
Henry Coursey, d-5
Nicholas Lowe

1. Brooke did not attend the fifth session, nor did he sit with the Council after the spring of 1706; Governor Seymour dismissed Brooke as a councilor on August 16, 1708.

2. Dismissed from the first session for his unwillingness to subscribe to the required oaths.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright May 27, 2009Maryland State Archives