Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Royal Assembly of 1697/98 - 1700

First Session: March 10, 1697/98 - April 4, 1698
Second Session: October 20, 1698 - November 12, 1698
Third Session: June 29, 1699 - July 22, 1699
Fourth Session: April 26, 1699 - May 9, 1700 (historical introduction with links to Archives of Maryland)

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1979, 1985.

Thomas Smithson, Speaker of the Lower House
Upper House
Thomas Lawrence, r-21
Henry Jowles
Charles Hutchins
George Robotham, d-2
Thomas Tench
John Addison
John Courts
Edward Randolph, dns
Thomas Brooke
James Frisby
Robert Smith, sw-2, a-32
John Hammond, a-3
Thomas Tasker, a-3
Francis Jenkins, a-3
William Dent, sw-22

Lower House
Anne Arundel County
John Hammond, c-3
Richard Hill
James Saunders
John Worthington, e-3
Samuel Young
Baltimore County
George Ashman, d-4
John Fery, d-3
John Hall
James Phillips, e-3
Thomas Staley, s-4
Calvert County
James Crawford, d-3
Elisha Hall
John Leech
William Parker, e-4
Walter Smith
Cecil County
John Carvile, s-4
Hans Hanson
William Harris
William Pearce
John Thompson
Charles County
Philip Briscoe, e-3
Benjamin Hall
Henry Hawkins, d-3
Philip Hoskins
James Smallwood
Dorchester County
Walter Campbell
Thomas Ennalls
Thomas Hicks 
Jacob Lookerman
Kent County
Charles Hynson, e-4
Michael Miller, d-4
Thomas Smith
John Whittington
Simon Wilmer, d-4
Solomon Wright, e-4
Prince George's County
William Barton, s-3
Ninian Beale
Thomas Greenfield
William Hutchinson
John Wight
St. Mary's City
Thomas Waughop
William Taylard, r-43
St. Mary's County
Thomas Beale
Philip Clarke, d-3
John Lowe
Jacob Moreland
John Nutwell (Nuthall), e-3, ev-44
Somerset County
John Bozman
Samuel Collins
Francis Jenkins, c-3
Walter Lane
William Whittington, e-3
Talbot County
William Hemsley, d-3
Edward Lloyd
Nicholas Lowe, e-3, ev4
Philemon Lloyd, e-4
Thomas Smithson, spkr 
Richard Tilghman

1. Returned to England in 1698, where he resigned his offices as provincial secretary and as a member of the Council and Upper House prior to the second session.

2. Smith, chief justice of the Provincial Court, and Dent, attorney general of the colony, were invited on special writs to sit with the Upper House for part of the second session. Both men also sat on special writs during 1698 in the Council to ensure a quorum and to provide special advice. Smith later received royal appointment to the Council and was sitting as an official member by May 1699.

3. Resigned early in the fourth session to accept the position of clerk of the Lower House.

4. His election to the third session was challenged and referred to the fourth session for final action, when it was ruled invalid because the election was not conducted according to law.

5. His election to the third session was ruled invalid because proper notice had not been given to all freeholders.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright April 29, 2010Maryland State Archives