Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Proprietary Assembly of 1686 - 1688

First Session: October 27, 1686 - November 19, 1686
Second Session: November 14, 1688 - November 17, 1688; November 19, 1688 - December 8, 1688

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1979, 1985.

Thomas Taillor, William Joseph President of the Upper House
Kenelm Cheseldyne, Henry Coursey Speaker of the Lower House
Upper House
Thomas Taillor1
Vincent Lowe
Henry Darnall
William Stevens, d-2
William Digges
William Burgess, d-2
Nicholas Sewall
Edward Pye
Clement Hill
Henry Coursey, sw-1, spkr 12
William Joseph, a-21

Lower House
Anne Arundel County3
Richard Hill
Baltimore County
Thomas Thruston
George Wells
Calvert County
Henry Jowles
George Lingan
Cecil County
William Dare
Edward Jones
Charles County
John Stone
Thomas Burford, d-2
Henry Hawkins, e-2
Dorchester County
Edward Pinder, dns, s-14
John Brooke
Daniel Clarke5
Kent County
Henry Hosier, dns, d-16
Michael Miller
William Harris, e-1
St. Mary's City
Kenelm Cheseldyne, spkr 1(?), 2
Anthony Underwood
St. Mary's County
Clement Hill, dns, c-17
Joseph Pile 
Richard Gardiner, d-2
John Coode, e-2
Somerset County
James Round
Stephen Luffe
Talbot County
George Robotham
John Edmundson

1. In 1688 William Joseph was appointed to the Council and elevated to the presidency, replacing Thomas Taillor in that leadership role.

2. Attended the first session and presided in the Upper House at the request of the other members; Lord Baltimore later reprimanded these men for that request.

3. The second delegate from Anne Arundel County has not been identified. No journal survives for the first session of this Assembly, and only Hill's name appears in the records of the second session.

4. Appointed sheriff prior to the convening of the first session; it is not known whether John Brooke or Daniel Clarke replaced him.

5. The Dorchester County commissioners detained Daniel Clarke from attending the second session, which resulted in a complaint from the Lower House.

6. Died before the first session convened; William Harris was elected to replace him.

7. Appointed to the Council and Upper House before the Assembly convened in its first session. It is not known whether Joseph Pile or Richard Gardiner was elected to replace him.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright April 29, 2010Maryland State Archives