Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Proprietary Assembly of 1676 - 1682

First Session: May 15, 1676 - June 15, 1676
Second Session: October 20, 1678 - November 14, 1678
Third Session: August 16, 1681 - September 17, 1681
Fourth Session: November 1, 1681 - November 12, 16811
Fifth Session: April 25, 1682 - May 13, 1682

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1979, 1985.

Thomas Notley, Philemon Lloyd Speaker of the Lower House
Upper House
Philip Calvert, chancellor
William Calvert, secretary
Baker Brooke, d-3
Samuel Chew, d-2
Jesse Wharton, d-22
Thomas Taillor
Thomas Notley, a-2, d-3, deputy governor 22
Henry Coursey, a-2
Benjamin Rozer, a-2, d-3
Vincent Lowe, a-3
Henry Darnall, a-3
William Stevens, a-3
George Talbot, a-33
William Digges, a-3

Lower House4
Anne Arundel County
William Burgess
James Rigby, d-3
John Homewood
William Richardson
Richard Hill, e-3
Baltimore County
George Wells
John Stansby, s-3
John Waterton
John Scott
James Mills, e-4 or e-55
Calvert County
Thomas Brooke, d-2
Richard Hall
Richard Ladd
Christopher Rousby6
Francis Billingsley, e-2
Cecil County
James Frisby
Jonathan Sybray
William Pearce
Nathaniel Garrett
Charles County
John Allen, d-2
John Douglass, d-3
Robert Henley
Henry Adams
Josias Fendall7
John Stone, e-2
Randolph Brandt, e-3
Dorchester County
John Stevens
William Ford, d-3
Bartholomew Ennalls
John Hudson, d-2
Anthony Tall, e-2, d-3
John Brooke, e-3
Henry Trippe, e-3
Kent County
Joseph Wickes
Thomas Marsh, d-3
Henry Hosier
Samuel Tovey8
John Hynson, e-3
Thomas Smith, e-3?8
St. Mary's City
Kenelm Cheseldyne
Robert Carvile
St. Mary's County
Thomas Notley, spkr 1, c-22
John Coode9
William Hatton
Walter Hall, e-2
Clement Hill, e-210
Richard Gardiner, e-3
Somerset County
William Stevens, c-3
Roger Woolford
James Dashiell
John White, s-3
John Goddin, e-3
Henry Smith, e-3
Talbot County
Philemon Lloyd, spkr 2-5
John Edmundson
Richard Woolman, d-3
Wenlock Christison, d-3
George Robotham, e-3
John Rousby, e-3

1. The November 1681 session was actually a continuation of the third session, which had been adjourned, rather than prorogued, on September 17, 1681. For convenience it is counted here as a separate session.

2. Before leaving the colony in June 1676, Charles Calvert, 3rd Lord Baltimore, commissioned his infant son Cecilius as nominal governor, and Councilor Jesse Wharton, his stepson-in-law, as deputy governor. Wharton died within a month, and as predetermined by Calvert, Notley became Wharton's successor. Speaker of the first session, Notley was now elevated to the Council. Notley presided over the second session, but died in April 1679.

3. There is no evidence that he attended any of the three sessions of this Assembly at which he was eligible to sit.

4. Although four delegates were elected from each county for this Assembly, Charles Calvert actually summoned only two delegates per county for the first session, an action that caused much discontent. All elected members received the proper summonses for subsequent sessions. Those individuals known to have been present at the first session were Thomas Notley, John Coode, Joseph Wickes, William Burgess, Thomas Brooke, Richard Hall, John Douglass, Robert Henley, Henry Adams, Philemon Lloyd, John Edmundson, William Stevens, Kenelm Cheseldyne, and Robert Carvile, the latter being summoned after the Assembly convened at the special request of the Lower House.

5. Definitely present at the fifth session, when he signed a declaration with other delegates; he may have been elected to the fourth session, but the records are incomplete.

6. Returned to England in 1681 on business arising from his controversies with Lord Baltimore over the collection of customs duties; he missed the third through the fifth sessions.

7. Voters of Charles County attempted to elect Fendall to the vacancy created by John Allen's death, but the Council issued a clear warning that he was ineligible to sit because of the prohibition placed on his holding office after his overthrow of the proprietary government in 1659/60.

8. The journal of the fifth session mentions a Capt. Thomas Smith as a member, and the records of the third session refer to both a Mr. Smith and Capt. Henry Smith of Somerset County. The reference may represent a clerical error, or Thomas Smith may have replaced Samuel Tovey of Kent County, who was excused from the second session for illness and may have subsequently resigned.

9. Calvert sought the dismissal of Coode from membership in the Assembly at its third session for Coode's alleged conspiracy with Josias Fendall earlier in 1681. The Lower House strenuously and successfully resisted the effort to unseat one of its members on as yet unproven charges.

10. Hill, who was serving as sheriff in 1676 and 1677, was apparently elected to replace Thomas Notley.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright April 29, 2010Maryland State Archives