Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Proprietary Assembly of 1661

First Session: April 17, 1661 - May 2, 1661

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1979, 1985.

Richard Preston Speaker of the Lower House
Upper House
Henry Coursey, secretary
Robert Clarke
Baker Brooke
Edward Lloyd
John Bateman 

Lower House
Anne Arundel County
John Brewer
Samuel Chew
Baltimore County
Thomas Stockett, dns
George Utie
Calvert County
Richard Preston, spkr
Thomas Manning
Richard Smith
Thomas Trueman
Charles County
Henry Adams
Joseph Harrison
Kent County
Thomas Stagwell
William Leeds
St. Mary's County
William Evans
Luke Gardiner
Thomas Mathews
William Barton

1. Excused from attendance.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright April 29, 2010Maryland State Archives