Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Proprietary Assembly of 1658

First Session: April 27, 1658 - by May 6, 1658

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1979, 1985.

Upper House
Philip Calvert
William Stone, dns
Thomas Gerard
Robert Clarke
John Price
Job Chandler, dns
Baker Brooke, sw1
Nathaniel Utie, sw1

Lower House
Anne Arundel County
William Fuller
Edward Lloyd
William Ewen
Calvert County
Richard Preston
Michael Brooke
Richard Smith
Woodman Stockley
Charles County
John Hatch
Kent County
Philip Conner
St. Mary's County2
Richard Willan (St. Mary's)
Thomas Cornwaleys (St. Inigoe's)
William Lucas (St. Michael's)
George Mee (St. Michael's)
William Evans (Newtown)
Zachary Wade (Newtown)
James Langworth (St. Clement's)

1. Baker Brooke and Nathaniel Utie sat in the Upper House for this Assembly by special writ. Both men were lords of manors and would soon be officially appointed to the Council.

2. Elections in St. Mary's County were by hundreds.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright April 29, 2010Maryland State Archives