Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Commonwealth Assembly of 1654

First Session: October (?), 1654 - October 20, 16541

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1979, 1985.

Richard Preston Speaker of the Assembly
Commonwealth Assembly
Kent County
Thomas Hynson
Joseph Wickes
Patuxent (Calvert County)
Richard Preston, spkr
Richard Ewen
William Parker
Sampson Waring
James Berry
William Ewen
Potomac (St. Mary's County)2
John Hatch
Thomas Hatton, dcl
Job Chandler, dcl
Arthur Turner, e
John Wade, e
Providence (Anne Arundel County)
William Fuller
Leonard Strong
Richard Wells
William Durand
Edward Lloyd

1. The Assembly, under the Puritan government of the parliamentary commissioners, was unicameral.

2. Thomas Hatton and Job Chandler declined to serve because of their previous oaths to Lord Baltimore. They were replaced by Arthur Turner and John Wade.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright April 28, 2010Maryland State Archives