Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Proprietary Assembly of 1649

First Session: April 2, 1649 - April 21, 16491

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1979, 1985.

Members by Special Writ
John Pile
Thomas Hatton
Thomas Greene
John Price
Robert Vaughn

Elected Members
Kent Isle
Philip Conner
St. Mary's County2
Richard Banks
Walter Peake
Richard Brown
John Mansell
Cuthbert Fenwick
Thomas Thornsborough
Robert Clarke
William Bretton3
George Manners

1. Only the journal of the last day's proceedings and the acts of this Assembly survive. It is not known if the Assembly met as one house or two.

2. The specific hundred that each man represented is unknown, therefore they are listed collectively under St. Mary's County.

3. William Bretton may have attended as clerk, rather than as an elected member.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright April 29, 2010Maryland State Archives