Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Proprietary Assembly of 1642B

First Session: September 5, 1642 - September 13, 1642

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1979, 1985.

Members by Special Writ
Thomas Cornwaleys, of the Council
John Lewger, of the Council
Giles Brent, of the Council1
John Langford, of the Council
William Blount, of the Council, dns2
Francis Trafford, of the Council, dns2

Freemen in Attendance
Thomas Weston3
Thomas Greene
George Binks
Nicholas Herby [Hervey]
David Wickliff
George Pye
Robert Clarke
Cyprian Thoroughgood
John Hollis
John Weyvill
Thomas Franklin
Thomas Hebden
John Medley
Francis Posey
Randall Revell
Thomas Sturman
William Durford
William Broughe
Nicholas Causine

1. Although he was removed from the Council on September 5, this did not affect his sitting on a special writ. He also represented by proxy seventy-three inhabitants of Kent Isle.

2.  Blount and Trafford, as members of the Council, were entitled to sit by special writ in this Assembly, but neither man actually attended.

3. Thomas Weston "pleaded he was no freeman because he had no land nor certain dwelling here &ca.," but by vote the Assembly decided he was a freeman.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright April 29, 2010Maryland State Archives