Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Proprietary Assembly of 1642A

First Session: July 18, 1642 - August 2, 1642

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1979, 1985.

Members by Special Writ
Thomas Cornwaleys, of the Council
John Lewger, of the Council
Giles Brent, of the Council
John Langford, of the Council1
William Blount
Thomas Gerard
Robert Evelyn
Cuthbert Fenwick
Robert Clarke
William Bretton, clerk

Freemen in Attendance
Kent Isle
Richard Thomas
Robert Vaughn
Mattapanient Hundred
Henry Bishop2
St. Clement's Hundred
William Broughe
St. George's Hundred
David Wickliff
George Pye
St. Mary's Hundred
Thomas Greene
Nathaniel Pope
St. Michael's Hundred
Thomas Sturman
John Langford1

1. Two men of this name attended the Assembly; the burgess for St. Michael's Hundred was identified as a carpenter.

2 His initial election to represent a St. Leonard's Hundred was ruled invalid because the hundred was not yet legally established and no writ had been issued for an election there. Bishop's election to represent Mattapanient Hundred was then reported.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright April 28, 2010Maryland State Archives