Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Proprietary Assembly of 1638/39

First Session: February 25, 1638/39 - March 19, 1638/39

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1979, 1985.

Members by Special Writ
Thomas Cornwaleys, of the Council
Giles Brent, of the Council
John Lewger, of the Council
Fulke Brent
Thomas Greene
John Boteler1

Elected Members
Kent Isle
Nicholas Brown
Christopher Thomas
Mattapanient Hundred
Henry Bishop
St. George's Hundred
David Wickliff
Randall Revell
St. Mary's Hundred
Thomas Gerard
Francis Gray
St. Michael's Hundred
James Cauther
John Price

Nonelected Freemen2
Cuthbert Fenwick Robert Clarke

1. There is no evidence that John Boteler attended.

2. Both men claimed a voice in the Assembly, because they did not assent to the election of burgesses from St. Mary's Hundred.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright April 29, 2010Maryland State Archives