Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Proprietary Assembly of 1637/38

First Session: January 25 - January 29; February 8, 26; March 5; March 12 - March 24, 1637/381

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1979, 1985.

Leonard Calvert, President of the Assembly
Freemen in Attendance2
Leonard Calvert, Lt. Gov.
Thomas Cornwaleys, of the Council
Robert Wintour, of the Council
John Lewger, of the Council
Jerome Hawley, of the Council
George Evelyn, Comm., Kent Isle, sw3
Thomas Greene
William Bretton
Henry Fleet
Robert Philpott4
William Brainthwaite
John Wyatt
Robert Clarke
Richard Garnett [Gardiner], Sr.
Justinian Snow
Marmaduke Snow
Francis Rabnett
Robert Vaughn
James Baldridge
Francis Gray
James Cauther
William Lewis
Thomas Franklin
Thomas Nabbs
Thomas Baldridge
Edward Fleet
Robert Percy
John Price
Thomas Morris [Maurice, Morrison]
Thomas Stent
John Robinson5
Zachary Mottershead
John Langford
Edward Parrie [Perry]
John Hill
John Richardson
Thomas Hebden
John Halfehead
John Hillierd
Edward Bateman
Richard Lusthead
John Fleet
Anthony Cotton
Andrew Chappell
Cyptian Thoroughgood
Christopher Martin
Nathaniel Pope
John Smithson
Robert Smith
John Medley
Isaac Edwards
John Courtis
Cuthbert Fenwick
Christopher Thomas
Richard Lowe
John Nevill
Richard Thompson
Reinold Fleet
William Broughe
Henry Crawly
Thomas Bradnox4
Edward Beckler4

1. The Assembly met only during the dates listed and was otherwise in adjournment.

2. Membership is listed generally in order of appearance. Many of the men attended for only a brief period, while others attended regularly. Twenty-four men, who did not attend personally, were represented by proxies.

3. The clerk erred several times the first day of the first session in referring to "Captain Robert Evelyn" as commander of Kent Isle. The commander was actually George Evelyn, commissioned in December 1637. By the second day of the session, the error was noted and Robert Evelyn was no longer referred to as commander of Kent Isle, although a man of that name did attend subsequent assemblies.

4. Robert Philpott, Thomas Bradnox, and Edward Beckler were elected to this Assembly to represent the freemen of Kent Isle. The freemen were also eligible to attend, however, and several did.

5. A carpenter named John Robinson attended this Assembly, but a second man with the same name may also have been present.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright February 21, 2014Maryland State Archives