Archives of Maryland
Historical List
General Assembly
Session of January 12 - April 11, 1994

a - appointed; d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.
Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., President of the Senate
Casper R. Taylor, Jr., Speaker of the House
District 1
John J. Hafer (R)
District 2
Donald F. Munson (R)
District 3
John W. Derr (R)
District 4
Charles H. Smelser (D)
District 5
Larry E. Haines (R)
District 6
Michael J. Collins (D)
District 7
Norman R. Stone, Jr. (D)
District 8
Thomas L. Bromwell (D)
District 9
F. Vernon Boozer (R)
District 10
Janice Piccinini (D)
District 11
Paula C. Hollinger (D)
District 12
Nancy L. Murphy (D)
District 13
Thomas M. Yeager (D)
District 14
Christopher J. McCabe (R)
District 15
Laurence Levitan (D)
District 16
Howard A. Denis (R)
District 17
Mary H. Boergers (D)
District 18
Patricia R. Sher (D)
District 19
Idamae Garrott (D)
District 20
Ida G. Ruben (D)
District 21
Arthur Dorman (D)
District 22
Thomas P. O'Reilly (D) r 1
Paul G. Pinsky (D) psa 2
District 23
Leo E. Green (D)
District 24
Decatur W. Trotter (D)
District 25
Beatrice P. Tignor (D)
District 26
Gloria G. Lawlah (D)
District 27
Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr. (D) pres
District 28
James C. Simpson (D)
District 29
C. Bernard Fowler (D)
District 30
Gerald W. Winegrad (D)
District 31
Philip C. Jimeno (D)
District 32
Michael J. Wagner (D)
District 33
John A. Cade (R)
District 34
Habern W. Freeman (D)
District 35
William H. Amoss (D)
District 36
Walter M. Baker (D)
District 37
Frederick C. Malkus, Jr. (D)
pres p.t.
District 38
J. Lowell Stoltzfus (R)
District 39
Larry Young (D)
District 40
Ralph M. Hughes (D)
District 41
Clarence W. Blount (D)
District 42
Barbara A. Hoffman (D)
District 43
John A. Pica, Jr. (D)
District 44
Julian L. Lapides (D)
District 45
Nathan C. Irby, Jr. (D)
District 46
American Joe Miedusiewski (D)
District 47
George W. Della, Jr. (D)

1 - Resigned from the State Senate, July 11, 1994.  Replaced by Paul G. Pinksky.
2 - Appointed to the State Senate August 1, 1994.  Sworn in August 2, 1994, to replace Thomas P. O'Reilly.
House of Delegates
District 1A
George C. Edwards (R)
District 1B
Kevin Kelly (D)
Betty Workman (D)
District 2A
Casper R. Taylor, Jr. (D) spkr
District 2B
Peter G. Callas (D)
District 2C
John P. Donoghue (D)
District 3A
D. Bruce Poole (D)
District 3B
James E. McClellan (D)
J. Anita Stup (D)
District 4A
Thomas H. Hattery (D)
George H. Littrell, Jr. (D)
District 4B
Donald B. Elliott (R)
District 5A
Richard N. Dixon (D)
Richard C. Matthews (R)
District 5B
Lawrence A. LaMotte (D)
District 6
Leslie E. Hutchnison (D)
E. Farrell Maddox (D)
Michael H. Weir (D)
District 7
John S. Arnick (D)
Louis L. DePazzo (D)
Connie C. Galiazzo (D)
District 8
Joseph Bartenfelder (D)
James F. Ports (R)
Alfred W. Redmer, Jr. (R)
District 9
John J. Bishop (R)
Gerry L. Brewster (D)
Martha S. Klima (R)
District 10
Robert L. Ehrlich, Jr. (R)
A. Wade Kach (R)
Ellen R. Sauerbrey (R)
District 11
Leon Albin (D)
Theodore Levin (D)
Richard Rynd (D)
District 12
Thomas E. Dewberry (D)
Kenneth H. Masters (D)
Louis P. Morsberger (D)
District 13A
Virginia M. Thomas (D)
District 13B
Martin G. Madden (R)
John S. Morgan (R)
District 14A
Joel Chasnoff (D)
District 14B
Robert L. Flanagan (R)
Robert H. Kittleman (R)
District 15
Gene W. Counihan (D)
Richard La Vay (R)
Jean W. Roesser (R)
District 16
Brian E. Frosh (D)
Gilbert J. Genn (D)
Nancy K. Kopp (D)
District 17
Kumar P. Barve (D)
Jennie M. Forehand (D)
Michael R. Gordon (D)
District 18
Leon G. Billings (D)
John Adams Hurson (D)
Christopher Van Hollen, Jr. (D)
District 19
Henry B. Heller (D)
Carol S. Petzold (D)
Leonard H. Teitelbaum (D)
District 20
Dana Lee Dembrow (D)
Peter Franchot (D)
Sheila Ellis Hixson (D)
District 21
Timothy F. Maloney (D)
Pauline H. Menes (D)
James C. Rosapepe (D)
District 22
Anne Healey (D)
Richard A. Palumbo (D)
Paul G. Pinsky (D) psr 1
District 22B
Rushern L. Baker III (D) psa 2
District 23
Mary A. Conroy (D)
James W. Hubbard (D)
Joan B. Pitkin (D)
District 24
Joanne C. Benson (D)
Nathaniel Exum (D)
Carolyn J. B. Howard (D)
District 25
Michael E. Arrington (D)
Ulysses Currie (D)
Brenda B. Hughes (D)
District 26
Rosa Lee Blumenthal (D)
Christine M. Jones (D)
David M. Valderrama (D)
District 27
Gary R. Alexander (D)
spkr p.t.
James E. Proctor, Jr. (D)
Joseph F. Vallario, Jr. (D)
District 28A
Stephen J. Braun (D)
Michael J. Srague (D)
District 28B
John F. Wood, Jr. (D)
District 29A
George W. Owings III (D)
District 29B
J. Ernest Bell II (D)
District 29C
John F. Slade III (D)
District 30
John C. Astle (D)
Phillip D. Bissett (R)
Michael E. Busch (D)
District 31
Joan Cadden (D)
W. Ray Huff (D)
Charles W. (Stokes) Kolodziejski (D)
District 32
Mary Ann Love (D)
Theodore J. Sophocleus (D)
Victor A. Sulin (D)
District 33
Robert C. Baldwin (R) psa 3
John G. Gary (R) psr 4
Marsha G. Perry (D)
Elizabeth S. Smith-Anderson (R)
District 34
Rose Mary Hatem Bonsack (D)
David R. Craig (R)
Mary Louise Preis (D)
District 35A
Donald C. Fry (D)
James M. Harkins (R)
District 35B
Ethel A. Murray (D)
District 36
C. Ronald Franks (R)
Ronald A. Guns (D)
W. Michael Newnam (D) a 5
District 37
Samuel Q. Johnson III (D)
Kenneth D. Schisler (R)
Robert A. Thornton, Jr. (D)
District 38
Bennett Bozman (D)
Norman H. Conway (D)
Charles A. (Charlie Mac) McClenahan (R)
District 39
Elijah E. Cummings (D)
John D. Jefferies (D)
Ruth M. Kirk (D)
District 40
Tony E. Fulton (D)
Salima Siler Marriott (D)
Howard P. Rawlings (D)
District 41
Frank D. Boston, Jr. (D)
Margaret H. Murphy (D)
Samuel M. Parham (D)
District 42
James W. Campbell (D)
Delores G. Kelley (D)
Samuel I. Rosenberg (D)
District 43
Gerald J. Curran (D)
Ann Marie Doory (D)
Henry R. Hergenroeder, Jr. (D)
District 44
Curtis S. Anderson (D)
Maggie L. McIntosh (D)
Kenneth C. Montague, Jr. (D)
District 45
Clarence Davis (D)
John W. Douglass (D)
Hattie N. Harrison (D)
District 46
Anthony M. DiPietro, Jr. (D)
Cornell N. Dypski (D)
Carolyn J. Krysiak (D)
District 47
R. Charles Avara (D)
Brian K. McHale (D)
Paul E. Weisengoff (D)

1 - Resigned from the House of Delegates upon appointment to the State Senate, August 1, 1994.  Replaced by Rushern L. Baker III.
2 - Appointed to the House of Delegates, 1994.  Sworn in August 11, 1994 to replace Paul G. Pinksy.
3 - Appointed to the House of Delegates, December 14, 1994.  Sworn in December 19, 1994 to replace John G. Gary.
4 - Resigned from the House of Delegates, November 1994 upon election as Anne Arundel County Executive, November 8, 1994.
5 - Appointed to the House of Delegates January 1, 1994.  Sworn in January 3, 1994 to replace R. Clayton Mitchell, Jr.

Return to Maryland General Assembly Session List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright August 27, 2004Maryland State Archives